Give Me Ears to Listen

Be Still and Know That He is God

I was a bit heavy-hearted when I got to Church Saturday evening. The photo above is not my church. It is the church my cousin Danny was married at. My church has an arched area like that behind the altar as well. But the wall is solid, not windows. But the soaring arch reflects our hearts soaring in prayer to God. As I sat at church, listening to the beautiful music, I counted my many blessings. I tried to put the disappointments and sorrows into His hands.

After some of the readings, the choir led us in the perfect song for today. I joined the singing loudly—the song was right in my small range. I love the words, I love the music….and as I prayed and sang I knew….all is well with Him. Life will go on no matter what. On those days when I can barely hold His hand, He hangs on tight and scoops me up. … right in His arms. On days when I am filled with skipping and joy, He is there. On each day, someone or something or some circumstance is there….I just have to see it. After dinner, it was the twinkling stars. You may (or may not) be wondering what I considered to be the perfect song for the day. Either way, you know I am going to share it with you! Here it is:

Give Me Ears to Listen- Timothy R. Smith
Refrain (sung twice): Give me ears to listen. Give me eyes to see.
Give me words to speak and show your face to me.

Let me be your servant let me walk your way.
Guide me on your path give night the light of day.
Let me be a sure foundation pure and strong.
Let me tell of your salvation all life long. [Refrain}

In silence when you call me, let me hear your voice.
Jesus walk beside me; let my soul rejoice.
When winds and currents batter me, help me be sure.
Give me courage from the storms when they occur. [Refrain].

Last night when I awoke I heard you call my name.
You refreshed my soul; I felt your burning flame.
Oh, strengthen me to bear my cross and walk your way.
Give me grace to comfort those with all I say. {Refrain].

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Give Me Ears to Listen

  1. fgassette says:

    I understand how you felt. That is why we need a personal relationship with God because only by depending on Him can we press through times of being heavy-hearted. Praise and worship is a good avenue to enter into, it helps us reach that special place where we can cast all our cares upon Him and He will give us the desires of our heart.
    Be Encouraged! Be Blessed!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It surely does helps us reach Him. Worship in community helps us know that our voices join together and are lifted to God. It gives us an outward sign of His grace. God bless your day, Francine πŸ™‚

  2. Jackie Paulson says:

    Thank you Kate for the reblog and the comments to my blog. I love this as it is a new day and a new discovery..and a new beginning…new everything. You bless others as you keep on blogging and thank you for blessing me and my blog with your words of encouragement. _jackie πŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You are welcome. Your poem was so beautiful. each new day we get a new chance to run to God’s arms and move forward. He is always there. …love to you and thanks for the encouragement.–Kate

  3. dogear6 says:

    Please share your burden when you are comfortable doing so, that we might encourage you.

    Nancy

  4. Patricia says:

    “This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Sometimes I have to repeat this many times but it always takes me to where I need to be.

  5. sonsothunder says:

    Here hear.
    Bless You
    paul

  6. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks Kate. My study in Psalms this week talks about praise and how praise can be a weapon against the enemy. Great truth, but I have to admit it’s hard to praise in pain. B Blessed my sister in Christ!
    Mike

  7. This takes me back to my own Choir singing days… we so often do not lend a listening ear.. as many as so full of making them self heard…. ..
    love and Blessings xx

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It is always a challenge to find that balance between sharing, listening, and waiting. All we can do is pray for the wisdom to know which is appropriate given the situation. love and blessings to you, too Sue!

Leave a Reply

