Life Has No Remote Control

In this day when technology reigns it seems we get quite accustomed to the conveniences available to us. I don’t have TiVO but I hear people say that once you are used to being able to see your shows commercial free you forget that you can’t do that if you are just watching TV, you keep trying to fast forward through the commercials or other parts you don’t want to see. A few years ago Adam Sandler made a movie called Click. He plays the role of a dad that is way too busy with work to notice or connect with his wife, children, and parents. He happens upon a magical remote control that literally allows him to fast forward through parts of his life whenever he chooses. He uses it with disastrous results. Certainly by fast-forwarding he tended to all of the things on his to-do list. But he neglected to put the truly important things on his list. As a result, time passes him by and it is too late too tend to them. He ends up learning to appreciate, cherish, treasure, and partake in the important parts of life.

I know that by Friday each week I tend to wish I had gotten more done during the week. I frequently have not prioritized my time the way it seems like I should have. There are what seems like a zillion things I did not get done. Yet I have done other things. For instance, the windows did not get washed and I did not de-clutter the guest room. I did not get my stacks of paperwork organized and filed. However, I did lend an ear or a shoulder to friends that needed it. I spent time with my dear son. I spent time with my sweet husband. I walked, I prayed, I noticed some of the beauty outdoors in the world around me. So some of the priorities on my invisible on-going to do list have been checked off. Today is a new fresh gift of a day for me to open. Will I give in to the urge to fast forward? Or will I live it the best I can at the pace God sets for me. I choose the latter. Why and how? With God’s grace, the love and support of people who care…and my own determination. Hope your day is or was [depending on when you are reading this] touched by moments that and people who affirm you.

you can effect change. love will give you the strength

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life Has No Remote Control

  1. fgassette says:

    Thank you for your encouraging words. I remember that movie. My whole family sat together and watched it. It was a good lesson for all of us. “Seek first the kingdom all else will be added unto you”. Be Encouraged! Be Blessed!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      remember how sad henry winkler looked when he tried to show Adam Sandler his trick and Adam Sandler said he always knew how the trick worked? That made me cry so hard!’ …and your Scripture quote made me think of the song ‘Seek Ye First’. It’s one of my favorites. It goes “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness…and all these things shall be added unto you, Allelu, alleluia”. I am going to be singing or humming that song all morning. Thanks for the gift of the Bible verse 😉

  2. Yep. No remote control with God.You have to get out of the chair and do some footwork. And we can throw the remote control away because in faith we do not want to have an off button.

  3. TBM says:

    Wonderful thoughts!

  4. Hi Kate, yes indeed Life Has no remote Control.. But we do have choices.. its just some do not know which buttons to press! 🙂 Nice that you got to do the things you wanted to do They are the important channels to tune into 🙂
    loved this post. xx

  5. Mike Fisk says:

    Great post Kate. Too often we are victimized by the clock. We all need to follow the example of Christ and get away often!

  6. orples says:

    How true! I word-pressed this, I was so impressed and it is one of those truths worth sharing! Thanks for posting.

  7. This reminds me of a comic frame I saw once:
    A poor dad is changing a tire on his car in an absolute downpour, and his children are in the car, looking out the window. His words, as the caption of the frame, are: But I CAN’T change the channel–this is really happening!
    😉

Leave a Reply

