you bought her what: 100 word challenge

I am trying my hand at a true challenge for me; brevity. It is called the 100 word challenge. Participants respond to a prompt each week by writing a 100 word entry for that prompt. The prompt precedes my tiny story and is in bold print.

…you bought her what…

The Now and Then

After Kate’s 10th birthday party, her mom and Aunt Margie chatted. “You bought her what keeps her focused on the now, Margie. Perfume.” “Heaven Scent perfume, Patti; just like Kate” said Margie dryly.

“What about what you bought her, Patti? It makes no sense”. “Yes it does”, said Patti. “You bought her what she will read once, and a notebook,” said Margie. “I bought her Little Women and a journal to hold her first story” said Patti. “It helps her see what she might be; a writer”. “Ah”, said Margie, “that is heaven sent. We gave her now and then!”

I am then to post the  link for the 100 word story at: http://jfb57.wordpress.com/

Please read first!

This is a plea from the one coordinating the challenge–looking for readers…

Many of you know about the 100 Word Challenge that is run from 100wc.net. It is the original 100 word project and is for children under 16. We desperately need some more folks to comment of these brilliant pieces of work. I would be really grateful if you could ad a note and a link on your blogs to encourage your readers to get involved. Many thanks!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to you bought her what: 100 word challenge

  1. Gilly Gee says:

    Ah I love it Kate! This is a fun challenge and I’m looking forward to reading other peoples entries.

  2. gwen07 says:

    You bought her what I couldn’t. What I wouldn’t because no girl-child of mine is going to school in pants that look as if they are painted on her eight-year-old body!
    I don’t care if you paid a hundred and fifty dollars them at Saks.
    What Albert?
    So now I’m the bad parent for denying my child the right to look like her peer-group.
    So be it.
    Wait! Don’t leave without the pants. Sophie’s in her room, I’ll get them.
    Albert, you’ll have to go into the doghouse for the pants – Max is wearing them this evening.
    Me laughing?

  3. snagglewordz says:

    Nice play on words with the heaven scent/sent. 🙂

  4. Lorely says:

    That’s the best gift of all – the possibility of being or doing anything you want! Nice to see you on the challenge!

  5. Jean Mishra says:

    Ah cool, Kate! I’m doing the Friday Drabble here on WordPress which is very similar: Write a complete story of exactly 100 words. I’m going to give this a go too. Isn’t it amazing how this kind of a limit works that writing muscle?? I think it’s a wonderful way to keep a minimalist perspective on what are you trying to say and still keep it worth reading. I love it! I’m glad I found this!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oooh i will have to check that out. Glad you are doing it :-). By the way, the name of your blog always makes me smile. It reminds me of when i was a kid…I’d sneak back out of bed, grab a book off the shelves by moonlight, and read in my bed with my curtains propped open so the moon and street light could come in. [you’ll ruin your eyes! my parents said].

  6. buddhafulkat says:

    Nice word play and I like how the gifts relate to the title now and then.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks! According to the “rule” for the 100 word challenge project, we are required to use the ‘prompt for the week’ somewhere in the story. The prompt for the week was “you bought her what”….

  7. Judee says:

    Now and then, what a wonderful idea!

  8. Clever plays on words. Great post.

  9. A lovely interpretation of the prompt – well done!

  10. jfb57 says:

    A very thoughtful piece Kate. It is difficult to write in a limited wordage especially when you only have 100! I love this little exchange. As a reader, I’d love those gifts too!

Leave a Reply

