God’s Love and Steadfastness is So Vast

We cannot outlast God. He is, of course more vast, more loving, more steadfast than we can ever be. When I saw the Grand Canyon I realized that compared to the size of God’s love, the Grand Canyon is like the indentation a mustard seed would make in wet sand. It was so quiet at the Grand Canyon. It is impossible for me to fully describe it. Yet as tiny as I am compared to the Grand Canyon, I felt so right. I felt as though in a sense, I had arrived at a special place and a special moment in time. I could see beauty everywhere, as far as I could see. There is, of course, no way to see the entire vast Grand Canyon all from one particular location. I did not hike to the bottom. I wasn’t in good enough shape to do that. Yet I would imagine that from the bottom of the Canyon it is even more overwhelming. From each spot we went up on the edges, it seemed more beautiful and perfect. It overwhelms the senses.

I could sense God all around me. Luke 17:21 “The kingdom of God is within you”. Perhaps, then, I sometimes need to take myself to a place so vast that I know what is both within and around me. It is God–within and around me. I am completely enveloped by His presence. It is said that ‘When a man takes one step toward God, God takes more steps toward that man than  there are sands in the worlds of time’. Each day He awaits me all over again.

It reminds me of a song we sing at church sometimes:

Yahweh I know you are near;
Standing always at my side;
You guard me from the foe;
You lead me in ways everlasting.

Where can I run from your love,
If I climb to the heavens you are there,
If I fly to the sunrise or sail beyond the seas,
Still I’d find you there….

So you see how the imagery of the Grand Canyon made me beyond aware of God’s presence in the world, in my heart, and in the hearts of each person I saw while i was there? His love is immeasurable.

How Great Thou Art, indeed, Lord ❤ ❤

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God’s Love and Steadfastness is So Vast

  1. TBM says:

    This is one place I really want to see. I visited there once, but I was only 1. I have a photo of me there with my brother. Hopefully I will see it with my adult eyes. However, I am curious as to what I thought of it when I was a baby.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      wouldn’t it be wonderful to know what we thought when we were tiny? I do hope you get to see the Canyon again soon. I want to go again—we only saw it from the south rim. Still need to see it from the north rim—and i want to see it all again (at both sunrise and sunset).

  2. Gracie Sam says:

    That is just beautiful. God is with us all the time. I love that song as well Kate, it reminds us that God loves us.

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    What a great article! How beautifully you have expressed that we find God in the grandeur of His creation, as you wrote, “…I sometimes need to take myself to a place so vast that I know what is within and around me…” As writers we can sometimes get stuck in ‘the small place’ of living at the computer or writing desk…It is essential to find that ‘greater space’…in life and all of God’s gifts around us…people, places, and wow…I would love to see the Grand Canyon! Excellent post, Kate!

  4. So hard to describe so that someone else can grasp, and yet you come so close. I can almost feel I am there . . .

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks. I don’t think a video of the Grand Canyon can completely feel you are there. It truly does make you just stand there with your chin on the ground. The birds are swooping silently, and the tourists approach the rim and stand there reverently and awe struck.

Leave a Reply

