To Sleep Perchance to Dream?

I am sleepy today. That is kind of unusual considering the fact that I have actually gotten a few decent nights of sleep for a change. Maybe it is because it is cloudy. Maybe it is because it is Monday. Maybe it is because I want it to still be the weekend. Does anyone else EVER feel like that? Oh of course not, right? Oh my creativity is a bit comatose right now. But later today I have tutoring. So I wanted to share a wonderful little something written by Charles Pegu’y. (oddly enough it was in a cookbook I received decades ago from a friend). It fit with my trying to force myself not to be sleepy, and feeling guilty that I am tired. Hopefully it will help chase the Monday blahs or blues 🙂

Sleep–by Charles Pegu’y.

God speaks:
I don’t like the man who doesn’t sleep says God.
I am talking about those who work
and don’t sleep.
I pity them. I have it against them.
A little. They won’t trust me.
They have the courage to work.
They lack the courage to be idle.
To stretch out. To rest. To sleep.
Poor people, they don’t know what is good.
He who doesn’t sleep is unfaithful to hope.
The look after their business very well
during the day.
But they haven’t enough confidence in ME
to look after it during the night.
As if I wasn’t capable of looking after
it during one night.
Human wisdom says, Don’t put off until
tomorrow what can be done the very
same day.
And I tell you: Put off ontil tomorrow
those worries and those troubles which
are gnawing at you today…
And might very well devour you today.
Put off until tomorrow those tears which
fill your eyes and your head,
flooding you, rolling down your cheeks,
those tears which stream down your
cheeks.
Because between now and tomorrow, maybe
I, God, will have passed your way.
Human wisdom says: woe to the man who          
puts off what he has to do until tomorrow.
And I say blessed, blessed is the man who 
puts off what he has to do until 
tomorrow.
Blessed is he who puts off. That is to say
Blessed is he who hopes. and who sleeps.”
I realize this little ‘reading’ that I share oversimplifies God and acts as though He thinks like limited humans do. But reading it and thinking about the heart of what the writer said lifted my heart. Perhaps I need to remember that God, too, rested.

To that I say—perhaps setting high standards at every moment is unhealthy. I wish I could take my own advice. Sometimes my husband gets discouraged because he doesn’t finish everything on his things to do list. I tell him to be realistic and only put a few things on his list. Do I do the same? Nope. Either my list is way too long or some days I don’t have a list or a plan and I just drift. Not all the time, but today I am as the expression goes, kind of at “sixes and sevens”—meaning I am a bit unfocused. So, what to do with a bit of time before I tutor? Yes—I am going to put my feet up and rest. Have a blessed day. Get some sleep tonight my friends.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Sleep Perchance to Dream?

  1. Cathy G says:

    …soooo pertinent to me! Thanks for the words of wisdom! 🙂

  2. Judee says:

    Sometimes our bodies force us to take a break, and that is natural. Rest, and sleep are both times when we can reflect on and assimilate what we want, and perhaps open up to new solutions or new ways to accomplish all those lists of things to do.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I like that concept of assimilation during rest and sleep. I do often find that when I awaken, new solutions or strategies have been revealed. There is a lot of truth to that, Judee

  3. TBM says:

    It is rainy in London today and I feel like curling up in bed and reading…but I have that to do list 😦

  4. EVERY time I get 8 full hours of sleep, I also get that sluggish feeling you mentioned, plus a great little headace. I just function better on less sleep.

Leave a Reply

