To Give and Not to Count the Cost

I was thinking about giving. Remember when Peter asked Jesus how many times he should forgive and asked Him if he had to forgive 7 times? Jesus said no, 70 times 7. Obviously He didn’t mean only 490 times and then stop forgiving. He, of course, was trying to indicate to Peter (and to us) that we must keep forgiving. Just because. Even if it is difficult.

So, too, I am called to keep giving. Does that mean I must give all my money away (not that there is much in the coffer to begin with)? I don’t think so. I think I am called to always have a giving spirit. There is always something more that I can give. I must recognize the opportunities TO give. I am not only talking about someone on the street asking for money. I am talking about opportunities to give of myself, my heart, my time, my talent, my wisdom, my ear, and if possible in these difficult economic times, money ad things, too. There are countless times throughout my day that may indicate there is something i can do. It is easy to just be in my pattern of going through the duties and demands of my regular day. But I must have that “Spidey-Sense” as they say in the Spiderman movies….to try to be aware of what I can give, to whom I can give, when i can give, and how I can give.

St. Ignatius of Loyola wrote “O my God! Teach me to be generous; to give and not to count the cost; to fight and not to heed the wounds; to toil and not to seek for rest; to labor and not to seek for any reward save that of doing your blessed will”.

To give and be mindful of what he wrote will help us to live a loving life.

Photo of my mom and my son. They live lives of love and giving without counting the cost.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to To Give and Not to Count the Cost

  1. wonderful post Kate. Great remember to trust our “Spidey-Sense” and give when our heart nudges us. I’m trying to be a better “listener”…thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Patricia says:

    I enjoy your blog and have given you an award–to accept or not. Just know I like you blog.

  3. Patricia says:

    Oops forgot to tell you the award badge will be on my blog Monday if you want it.

  4. Susan Michaels says:

    Beautiful post and what a great message of prayerful desire to recognize opportunities TO give…”God who supplies seed to the sower…will increase your supply…” (http://bible.cc/2_corinthians/9-10.htm) This is a scripture verse I needed to learn to appropriate deep within my spirit, following several tough years of very trying economic ups and downs…then, something amazing happened as I finally started to give out of a total trust that God was behind that inner prompting to do so…regardless of my own resources. Joy! I found out you can’t outgive God…and oh, how He loves to show us that He is a God of total provision and continuous supply. Many blessings, Susan

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh my are you ever right. When you step forward holding God’s hand or walking in His footsteps—you have His love enveloping you. You give love—-and it is received. It is even returned (often enough to encourage but hopefully-at least in my case- not so often that it inflates mu ego.

  5. Pingback: Monday, way to start the week O/… « Today I think…

  6. TBM says:

    This is a great reminder. I know when I am having a bad day, it means so much when someone stops and asks why. There are so many things we can do and we may not even realize how much it means to the other person.

  7. I heard someone say that when you are helping a drowning person, you are very near the life preserver.
    Also, friend sent me a card that said: Don’t be afraid to give part of yourself away; it will always grow back.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I love both of those expressions; I had never heard either one before. They both ring really true. Whenever you help someone God gives you the strength to reach out. When you give and give and give—your heart grows; you haven’t lost what you gave away. Thanks for the input/comments. They mean so much to me.

  8. Sojourner says:

    I appreciate your liking one of my posts. I have been rambling around in your blog and find it delightful. Very much on cue with your purpose of sharing and spreading optimism. Your openness is refreshing.

    I started bloging just a couple of months ago – fought off the inclination as long as I could :-). But I have been writing off and on for many years and I knew God was telling me to do this – and to not be concerned if anyone read it – that is His domain.

    In this post on giving I likes the quote from St Ignatius. I have seen it years ago but forgot about it. It is simple yet profound. Giving is at the heart of God. He wants us to learn that we OWN nothing – we are simply stewards. Therefore as He directs we must learn to give freely of ourselves and His resources to whomever – regardless of whether we see their need.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

