The Arms of God

How do I gain strength for the journey of life? Sometimes, quite honestly, I just about collapse. That happens when I rely solely on my own strength, wits, or whatever. Strength for the journey can mostly be gained from those we love, from community. But of course, the true source of strength for the journey must come from the infinite source. St. Philip Neri wrote ” Cast yourselves into the arms of God and be very sure that if He wants anything of you, He will fit you for the work and give you strength”.

This is what I glean from that little nugget. If I deliberately and decisively put my mission, my decisions, my future plans in God’s hands and arms and let Him choose the route and mission, then He will be sure that it is a good fit for me and give me the strength to do what is needed. If I arrange it the other way and choose for myself without consulting Him, then it is like asking Him to help me find the horse after I left the barn door open. It limits the possibilities in life.

Of course, I am so often overly eager to be through with the decisions, the route planning, etc that I don’t consult Him first. Many times I just assume I know what He wants me to do. Many times I am wrong! Sometimes I haven’t ‘dreamed big enough’. Sometimes there are journeys that had not even occurred to me.

I love the concept of casting myself into the arms of God. For some reason that makes me feel even more secure and safer than putting myself in His hands. Perhaps the image of me being in His hands makes me aware of how easily I could wiggle away from Him. But if I am enfolded into His loving arms, then I am held close to His heart. Why would I stray once I am there where I was born to be? I wouldn’t want to because I am an Easter woman; and Alleluia is my song.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Arms of God

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    beautiful!

  2. Terri O.A. says:

    Oh, I feel right at home reading your lovely words. It is how I grew up. I felt like I received a heavenly hug reading your post. Thank you!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh I’m so glad, Terri. The words came to me while I was praying. I was hoping that someone else would be able to relate to my words. God bless your evening and Sunday. ❀

  3. auntyuta says:

    ‘Cast yourselves into the arms of God . . . ‘
    This is a very beautiful concept. The strength we need, comes from God, always when we need it most. Thanks for sharing, Kate. And have a good Sunday!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It occurred to me on a walk after prayer. Some people were fishing in the little lake in our complex. Which made me think of fly fishing which made me think of casting….interesting how God leads us, isn’t it? Have a great Sunday too, Uta

  4. Gracie Sam says:

    Beautiful Kate. That’s how I feel too, putting our trust in God knowing that we will be all right πŸ™‚

  5. Loved this post! God is always there to hold us up and give us what we need for the journey, we just forget to rely on Him. Good reminder!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks. He gives us what we need but not always what we want. and many times what we think we need is not what we actually need. What we always need, of course, is to be filled by Him. Glad you liked it!!

  6. There is no one like the God of Israel,
    who rides on the heavens to help you
    and on the clouds in his majesty.
    The eternal God is our refuge,
    and underneath are the everlasting arms.
    Deuteronomy 33:26-27a
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

