Do you love to be swept away?

There are things that tend to sweep me away. [I add here that there are too many verses in Scripture to enumerate here that sweep me away].  Sometimes it is an extraordinary piece of music. Examples of that include ‘Music of the Night’ from Phantom of the Opera and Appalachian Spring by Aaron Copland. There are many other pieces of music that do that as well. Sometimes it is a passage from various books that I have read and treasure; or scenes from various scenes from movies. It could be a magnificent sunset or stretch of beach. Often it is a magnificent speech that sweeps me away.

But today—it was a blog post written by a blogger that moves me. It is a review of the movie War Horse. But it is SO, SO much more. She has such a breathtaking way with words. So, rather than quote her and take her words out of context, I urge you to go to her link. I swear you will not be sorry. here is the link. No, don’t resist!! http://gwensworld.net/2012/01/16/war-horse-in-praise-of-schmaltz/

 

N

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do you love to be swept away?

  1. TBM says:

    I also love the music from Phantom of the Opera! I first saw this production when I was a teenager, and since then I have seen it several more times.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I saw it once in Chicago a number of years ago. I knew nothing about it in advance. I had never heard any of the music. I was overwhelmed and swept away. oh my goodness…it was marvelous.

  2. gwen07 says:

    Kate, kate, Kate – Yes, we would drink gallons of coffee and talk until all the words were gone and still – there would be things about which to write.

    Thank you sooooooo much.

    gwen

  3. dogear6 says:

    Thanks so much for the link – I went over to read it as I ate breakfast and I really enjoyed Gwen’s write-up on it.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

