Another Reason to Be Amazed

My husband, son, and I are football fans. But even if we weren’t, this information would amaze me. God’s affirmation is resounding when we heed his voice. Miracles happen all around us. Some huge, some tiny. This one seems pretty darn huge to me!

More than 24 years ago, Pam and husband Bob were serving as missionaries to the Philippines and praying for a fifth child. Pam contracted amoebic dysentery, an infection of the intestine caused by a parasite found in contaminated food or drink. She went into a coma and was treated with strong antibiotics before they discovered she was pregnant.

Doctors urged her to abort the baby for her own safety and told her that the medicines had caused irreversible damage to her baby. She refused the abortion and hoping her son would be born without the devastating disabilities physicians predicted.

Pam ultimately spent the last two months of her pregnancy in bed and eventually gave birth to a healthy baby boy August 14, 1987. Pam’s youngest son is indeed a preacher. He preaches in prisons, makes hospital visits, and serves with his father’s ministry in the Philippines.

He also plays football.

Pam’s son is Tim Tebow.

I think I had heard some of that information before, but not all of it. He is an excellent role model. No drugs, no illicit relationships with women, no other drugs or substance issue, good to his family, devoted to his faith….genuinely devoted. He convinced many of his teammates at the University of Florida to spend their summers going on mission trips with him to the Philippines. He is the real deal. A good man. It’s no wonder so many are making fun of him and tearing him down. What is his reaction? He just continues walking God’s path. He holds his head up, does his best, and keeps his eye on God. That is what amazes me. No striking back at his critics, no wild drunken celebrations, just him being the man God created him to be. That is what amazes me. The man, his faith, his talent, and his example.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another Reason to Be Amazed

  1. arbohl says:

    I love this. Tim Tebow seems to really be an excellent man. It’s so sad that people have to expect that he isn’t the real deal because we’ve all been so disappointed in the past. I’m glad he is such a good role model 🙂

  2. I think God would be disturbed about praying for touch downs and thanking him for giving them(allegedly). I think it is appropriate to pray for no injuries and to ask that our anger which may emerge be controlled before a game. I think his faith and testimony should be not aligned with sports in the arena in any way. He can preach and be a powerful example outside of this arena. If I am off base here(sports metaphor) I accept that as long as God is for the Miami Dolphins I will withdraw my statements.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      God is for all who follow Him and for His lost sheep. I see no difference between a surgeon praying for a surgery that accomplishes his goal and saves the patient’s life or a quarterback praying. granted football is not life or death. however, if one follows God, why would one only allow Him into some parts of one’s life and not others? I realize it comes across as over the top. However, if he wants to preach—so be it. He isn’t the first nor the last. and the Dolphins STILL have the only perfect record in the NFL ever.

  3. This is such an amazing and uplifting story. Especially timely too since playoffs for the Super Bowl are happening. And the Bronco’s play today! Thank you Kate. I shared this post with my daughter who was on her way to a play off party. She could hardly wait to show off being the one in the know. This is just something that should be shouted from the bleachers and uprights for all to know.
    My husband is and has been a Bronco fa sine the 70’s. So this says whose names will be shouted him my home tonight.
    Happy Play offs Kate, to you, your husband, and your son.

  4. misswhiplash says:

    Go Tim Go! Walk forward for the Lord….what a wonderful story..I did not know this but it filled me with great joy as I read it..thank you so much for sharing it with us and with me in particular

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    Even we in the UK have heard of him; but I didn’t know the whole. Wonderful story.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      cool that you have heard of him. Magnificent guy—he and his team lost yesterday. But Tim Tebow being Tim Tebow, I am guessing that he will use the time off he has now for ministering and doing missionary work–plus more practice and conditioning. He is the real deal.

  6. My kids were in his school district and we certainly are proud of him! 😉

Leave a Reply

