Wake up and Be Conscious

Thornton Wilder wrote, “We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures”. Some days those treasures are harder to see than others. Some days all we can see is the difficulties we are dealing with. Some days we feel lonely. Some days we feel like our best days were way too long ago. But our treasures are all around us anyway. Now I know it may seem that someone else has a great big huge pile of treasures and others do not.

The thing is, we each have different kinds of treasures. Some days we do not hear God whispering in our ear. I am reminded of The Thorn Birds. In particular, I am thinking of the ever so long ago made for TV movie that was made (based on the book). Megghie (the main character) grows more and more bitter throughout her life. She falls in love with and wants to marry the unattainable Father Ralph. She instead marries another man who loves her dearly. He is devoted to her. Her children are devoted to her. Her brothers are devoted to her. She spends her life on a sheep ranch. In her later years she is filled with bitter anger. She absolutely CANNOT see the treasures she has had. All she can see is that she could NOT have Father Ralph, and her son (who is actually Father Ralph’s son, too) becomes a priest. In her mind she has lost everything that meant anything. As she continues her tirade, the camera moves back and pans over the scene. The thriving sheep ranch, her devoted husband, daughter, and brothers. She has missed out on counting life’s richest blessings.

The first time I saw this movie, I couldn’t relate to any of it. The second time I saw it was years later. I was recuperating from my second miscarriage and was grieving and bitter and not feeling one bit well. Not one bit. I had a devoted husband and a 5year old son who loved me too. All I could see was that we had lost a child a number of years before and now i had had 2 miscarriages to boot. All my friends had multiple children. Their lives seemed perfect. When I saw that scene in the movie I could see all the treasures that she had not noticed. It woke me up.

It was then I vowed to count every blessing, no matter how hard I had to look to even figure out what they are. I vowed I would not permit myself to grow bitter. How dare I minimize the gifts God picked out for me? Who am I to argue with Him and say He picked the wrong gifts, blessings, and talents for me? He knows what I need. He walks beside me, ready to whisper in my ear.

So yes, I say to myself ‘wake up and be conscious’ today. Blessings today? the chance to re-group. the chance to re-connect with friends and family. the chance to blog and have my words go ‘out there’. I am so blessed, lucky, affirmed, taken care of. God bless your day—

may it be a day when your lemons become lemonade….and your darkness is dispelled by candle light.

Believe Anyway—no matter what the world is telling you to do….forward joy. With love—your perennial optimist, Kate

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wake up and Be Conscious

  1. Your words have gone “out there” and been received, with thanks, from me…thank you for sharing these wonderful perspectives….I so benefit from your reminders….

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thank you so much for the feedback. I receive reminders from my own writing to. It makes me accountable AND often I have to write in order to know what I am thinking! Does that ever happen to you?

      • Yes, that is how most of my image “pages” develop…creating them as a way for me to try to figure something out or to process ideas that I might find confusing….they often come out of my own challenges or reflections…and then I share them with others. And I find that seeing them on the blogs is a helpful and powerful reminder for me.I’ve also had to learn to put more words to the ideas, for the explanations in the blog posts…something I didn’t have to do with the image pages…that was difficult, but is getting easier and is so helpful to me. When I first started my own blogs, I had no idea…none at all…that other people have similar thoughts/concerns/reflections and have also learned to travel out of their pain or sadness and on to sharing some of the wisdom learned during those times with others…I can see that so beautifully in your blog..

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Thank you. I can see it in your blog, too. And Oh, yes, I know exactly what you mean! It is so heartwarming to see that others have journeyed through sorrow or difficulties and found joy and strength on the other side of it. It is inspiring to see how strongly convicted people are in their determination to spread inspiration, faith, love, joy, to uplift. It lightens all of our burdens when one of us posts. We can get so dedicated to uplifting others we forget at many times that God placed many people here to do His work—and that there are many people doing His work. It has been a comfort and a joy thus far to read other people’s posts, comments, and input on my and their blogs. It at times makes me wonder to myself ‘wow Lord, how long has this been going on? there are all kinds of people doing your will <3'

  2. When feeling unblessed and depressed I force myself to drive over to daughter’s and relish in the aura of grandkids and my treasure is vast and I am cured immediately.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      the joy and laughter of children is so restorative. different days, different things do it for me. some days a phone call. some days my pets. other people. my students. beautiful music…we are deeply and constantly blessed, Carl.

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    So much to relate to in your wonderful words. The loss of a child is exclusive entrance to a twilight zone from which we view the world, and the rest of our lives, through different eyes. After the shedding of so many tears, the treasures do indeed shine more brightly. My best wishes to you and your family!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh the treasures definitely shine more brightly. Thank you so much for your wishes. It sounds like you speak from experience on that front. My best wishes to you and your family too, Patti ā¤

  4. Jackie Paulson says:

    I want to thank you for you kind and warm message about my blog today. You are a treasure to have as my friend online. I see that you endured two miscarriages, and although I have not experienced that my sister did and I feel the pain you did go through with tears falling down. šŸ˜¦ But know that the Lord has them both and you will meet them again in heaven. Yes, the movie, I have to seen nor red the book, but it did make me think as well…just now how I could have missed such a wonderful reading lesson. As a Christian I do count my blessings as I almost needed my life once and God stopped it from happening. I had the “victim” mentality forever and now I know that God walks us hand in hand through our adversities even if we don’t’ see it at that time we endure such a horrific thing in our lives.I also learned that the more the enemy chases us the closer we are to the Lord and the blessings around the corner. Now, although I did not share this yet I will quickly, my mom died when I was five: so my compassion is beyond gold for you and your loss. I will write about that as well. Stay strong in your Faith and Know that you touch the lives and hearts of those who stop here. You are not alone. Much Love, and Lord Bless your family, Jackie ā™„ā™„

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Bless your heart, Jackie. Yes we shall meet our loved ones once again. Isn’t that reassuring? Each day God has been putting life affirming people in my path through my blog. Amazing, wonderful, fabulous people. Since I began blogging I have learned so much. I have learned about the mountaintops and valleys that people have journeyed through. I have read their posts about enduring and loving and emerging with their hands in God’s hand. and today I say, “why was i disheartened? the number of faithful loving people is amazing. we feel like victims until we see that we are loved and uplifted.
      I am sorry you lost your mom when you were ever so young. That must have been so difficult to go through. I pray there were other trusted females that surrounded you with love as you grew from tiny girl to young lady to grown woman. You are not alone either, dear Jackie. You are a brave and determined Candle Lighter. Love, prayers, hugs and blessings to you and your loved ones. God bless you and your kindness in all the ways you reach out to others. ā¤ ā¤

  5. gwen07 says:

    Kate, thank you for this. When I hear the title the Thornbirds, I think of my beloved mother who so loved this book and movie. I count my memory of my mom as one of my dearest treasures. Again, thanks for this post.

    gwen

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Dear Gwen: I am so happy that the post helped you remember special memories of your dear mom. You are most welcome. She must have been a very special, loving lady. Blessings to you tonight. Stay warm in the snowy weather <3—kate

  6. Connie Wayne says:

    A truly wonderful article that can be an encouragement for anyone who has suffered loss or pain. Thanks for sharing your vulnerability, so that other people can easily relate to what you write. I have never lost a child, but I have suffered loss, and it is always good to be reminded to “count our blessings.” Blessings, Connie

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I do hope it can encourage others. Aren’t our experiences meant to be shared so that other persons can be helped along their path? No joy or sorrow can help unless it is shared. Don’t you love the Rosemary Clooney recording of “Counting My Blessings”? such a lovely reminder.

  7. auntyuta says:

    The Thorn Birds is a 1977 best-selling novel by Colleen McCullough, an Australian author
    By googling the above I found out a lot about the plot and the characters in the book. I read the book a long time ago. However reading about the plot it all came back to me. I think Colleen McCullough is a great writer. I read most of her other novels as well.
    I wonder now whether in the TV version the characters are depicted slightly differently?

    Sorry, I should have written this comment somewhere else. But I’ll post it now anyway otherwise it may get lost. Sorry about the mix-up.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I found the movie to be fascinating, as it was the first peek at Australian life that i had Iexcept for National Geographic I know when the book came out it seemed that everyone was reading it. I didn’t at the time, but will now šŸ™‚

  8. auntyuta says:

    Hi, Kate, I checked it now. It seems I commented to the right blog after all. I still think there must be a difference to the way Luke, Meggie’s husband, is described in the book. If you read up on the plot, you’ll see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

