Again…From the mouth of babes.

When my son was little, he was easily delighted. He loved being tossed lightly into the air (don’t worry, only a few inches from our hands). We’d sit on the sofa and stand him up, then toss him lightly a few inches up. He’d laugh with delight. We’d stand him on our lap. He’d laugh a hearty belly laugh. and then he would say it. He’d say “ah…GAIN” and he would laugh again. So, too can we greet happy times or moments with delight and say “ah…GAIN”.

But I believe it goes deeper than that. We can look at moments in time in our history when perhaps things seemed right. For example, when we walked on the moon for the first time….”ah GAIN”. When the coal miners were rescued after weeks in the mines “ah GAIN”…when organizations have poured tons of food and assistance into towns and nations that have been hit by tragedy…”ah GAIN”. Yes, I say “ah…GAIN” to the Camelot moments the world has known. There have been countless moments when we look back upon them.

That is what gives me hope some days. Some days, I have found, current circumstances can be overwhelmingly filled with sorrow, fear, tragedy, grief, or any of a myriad of things. Yet, the memory that there have been major times of joy somehow makes me willing to continue to strive to bear up. Today I do not have a huge difficulty I am dealing with. But I know already that there will be some really specific challenges this year.

Yet the words at the end of Camelot come back to me.

“Each evening, from December to December, Before you drift to sleep upon your cot,Think back on all the tales that you remember Of Camelot. Ask ev’ry person if he’s heard the story,And tell it strong and clear if he has not, That once there was a fleeting wisp of glory Called Camelot.Camelot! Camelot!
Now say it out with pride and joy! Where once it never rained till after sundown,
By eight a.m. the morning fog had flown…Don’t let it be forgot That once there was a spot
For one brief shining moment that was known As Camelot”.

Camelot has come to symbolize the years when JFK was president. Beyond that, though, I am using Camelot as metaphor for times when someone or many someones have been noble, selfless and inspiring. To the future I say, “Oh, again”.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Again…From the mouth of babes.

  1. Dianna says:

    When I was in high school, we went to see the movie “Camelot”, and I loved it. This post rings true; through the bad times, we have to remember and focus on the good things in life.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I LOVED that movie. To this day i remember the closing scene when Richard Harris as King Arthur is sending Tom off to carry on the memory and mission of Camelot. I know for all of us that in those sad and bad times it can be REALLY hard to keep believing. REALLY hard. Remembering this scene and song helps me on days like that. But then, I never met a musical that I didn’t like!

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Definitely inspiring.

  3. The Camelot of this world make us believe “Ah-gain” that there is good in people or some people despite of the cruelties we see everyday….Yes, “ah-gain” we’ll feel pain but then “ah-gain” we’ll experience love and joy again. This year, my wife and I decided to no longer dwell on the heartaches that we went through from finances to family issues. We chose to live our lives with joy no matter what….as we told each other, “we’re not going to live forever, lets enjoy today, lets celebrate this year as the best one we could ever have. Next year we don’t know what awaits for anyone of us.Life is fleeting not to be enjoyed.” STay blessed my friend.

Leave a Reply

