All’s right with the world: Carry On

I like to think of a fresh new year as a beautiful gift I get from God each year. As I open it, He divulges more and more throughout the year. Some of the paths that loom in front of me look peaceful. Some look treacherous, and some heartwarming. I don’t know what will happen this year. The year is too new. Do I want to know? Well, a little bit. But really, it works best if I see it all unfold gradually. Otherwise it is like knowing a bunch of people are going to throw you a surprise party, but you have to act like it is a surprise when it actually occurs.

Besides that, when there are going to be difficulties and suffering, i really prefer not to know about it way in advance. That could ruin the chance to enjoy the happiness of the present time. But as I look back over the past few years I can see that some of the paths have narrowed. I guess I could compare it to the early stages of dating years when you are dating no one seriously, and there are a number of guys that I am dating and getting to know. While that was a lovely time, I much preferred the depth of falling in love with, marrying, and spending my life with my husband. I was ready for that. Am I ready for a time when some of my options have eluded me? In a way, because unexpectedly, other options opened to me.  I read something at the end of Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery that nicely summarizes my thoughts on this.

Dear, dear old world,” she murmured, “you are very lovely, and I am glad to be alive in you”. Then a few paragraphs later, at the very end of the book: “Anne’s horizons had closed in since the night she had sat there before coming home from Queen’s; but if the path set before her feet was to be narrow she knew that flowers of quiet happiness would bloom along it. The joys of sincere work and worthy aspiration and congenial friendship were to be hers; nothing could rob her of her birthright of fancy or her ideal world of dreams. And there was always the bend in the road! “‘God’s in his heaven, all’s right with the world,'” whispered Anne softly.

Indeed, all is right with the world this sunny January day. Yes, there are moments when I have been feeling a sense of impending doom. But those feelings may or may not have any validity. Come what may, love will keep me together.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to All’s right with the world: Carry On

  1. Dianna says:

    Hi, Kate,
    Thanks for visiting my blog today, and I’m honored that you’ve subscribed. I will also subscribe to e-mail updates to your blog. And thanks for the info on the Candle Lighter image with the actual text: I made the change to my widget.
    Great blog today – yes, it’s best that we don’t know what lies ahead, as in the Garth Brooks song, “The Dance”.

  2. What a wonderful and positive way to start the year. I smile when you wrote, “I like to think of a fresh new year as a beautiful gift I get from God each year. ” It is. Yes, there would be problems. Yes there would be heartaches. But in with that comes happiness and love as well. And I agree, I don’t want to think of the possible trials ahead. I wish to celebrate today in joy and build great memories. I agree, love will keep us all together in 2012 as it was years before. Have a blessed day….

  3. Louise says:

    I love the line that says, “I like to think of a fresh new year as a beautiful gift I get from God each year.” I also think of the new year that way. Again, Happy 2012!

    Cheers,
    Louise

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I pictured opening a vast stack of gifts —366 of them….one for each day. Today I accept those yet to be opened gifts with hope and faith. Happy 2012 to you, too. Cheers, Louise!

  4. Such a lovely post! I especially enjoyed, “But really, it works best if I see it all unfold gradually.”

    So true!

    Happy 2012 and blessings to you as the year unfolds. ♥

  5. All is always right, I guess, even when it looks “doomy”, right? 😉

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I find when it looks or is doomy that I have to continue trudgin through. Often I am heavy hearted at those times….but as I continue dealing with the feelings, sorrow, and difficulty, I end up getting either stronger or at least accustomed to ‘bearing up’. Eventually I gain some perspective. There are times I must admit, though that it takes a long time to gain the perspective. There are times when the true purpose of the suffering is hidden. Many times I later encounter someone going through the situation I went through many years before. At THAT point I can help that person through the sorrow. I can understand and empathize in a special way….and my having survived it gives the other person hope.

  6. misswhiplash says:

    Good post Kate, but I just wish that when the Good Lord was giving out the New Year gift that He could have put something better in my gift than a husband very ill in hospital. Our Christmas gift was the same… Of course it could be that He has held back the good gifts ready for the Spring and Summer

    Happy New Year

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I am deeply sorry to hear that your husband is ill in the hospital. What a terribly difficult time for both of you. What a heartache to go through anytime, but especially during Christmas and New Year’s. I remember when our infant daughter was in the hospital at Christmas and New Year’s. At one point my husband and I, in our heartache, went a couple of miles from the hospital for about an hour to walk around and look at the lights and listen to carolers.I was so sad and angry that the holiday season had the audacity to go on while we and our daughter was suffering. My heart truly goes out to you. You and your husband are in my prayers. I hope and pray that there is someone nearby you today to help to ease your burden.

  7. TBM says:

    Lovely post. It would be a shame to know everything that will happen. Life is a journey, who knows where you will land. I loved the quotes. I need to pick up that series again. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

