Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter.Β test4Haboob

This is a photo of a dust storm from this summer here in the Phoenix area. We don’t get the amazing blizzards down here in Phoenix. I surely grew up with them, though, in MN and IL. In my married life I lived in NH, MN (again), NJ (outside Philly), OH, and now AZ. As you can see, I saw my share of winter and blizzards. We had a blizzard in NJ one winter when we got I believe 3 feet of snow in less than 24 hours…. anyway, instead of a blizzard, I am posting a summer-time desert life equivalent! The power of nature is awesome. By the way, this photo was taken by a photographer for the East Valley Tribune. I had put that on the post but somehow didn’t save it. So I am updating the post. Didn’t want you to think my photography skills were this advanced. They aren’t…at least not yet πŸ˜‰

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  1. Gracie Sam says:

    Wow, that is amazing!

  2. amira says:

    The power and wonder of nature sure is awesome.
    I have never seen snow and always awed by the sight of it on TV and in photos.
    I am hoping 2012 is the year for me to see snow πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year πŸ™‚

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    That is an amazing photo. Happy 2012 πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Wordpress Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter | I Choose Happy Now

  5. jakesprinter says:

    Great Entry for this week theme
    Happy New Year Kate wish you luck for 2012 πŸ™‚

  6. Debbie says:

    Kate – that’s an incredible shot and beautiful photography! My sis lives in Tucson, but she’s never sent me a photo like that one! Happy New Year (I hope it will be)! I’m sure you’re expecting it to be – oh optimistic one!
    Debbie

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Debbie—one of the photographers for the East Valley Tribune took it. It is amazing…2012 is going to be a great year….we are SO blessed. Happy new year, my dear!

  7. eof737 says:

    That is an amazing winter! β™₯HAPPY NEW YEAR :-)!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter… And Happy New Year! | Mirth and Motivation

  9. halfcnote says:

    We lived in Phoenix a good while back and I recall the wonder of the dust storms, but I’ve never seen one from this angle! Wow.

  10. Amar Naik says:

    nice post. happy new year

  11. pix & kardz says:

    wow, incredible!
    awe-inspiring moments like this remind me that we may have come far with many technological wonders, but there are simply some things over which we have no control. thanks for sharing this summer/winter/amazing story πŸ™‚
    happy new year to you!

  12. Rois says:

    The picture is incredible!

  13. Love the choice you made. Just an amazing spectacle. Almost like being in a dreamland. Just beautiful . A perfect picture to greet the New Year- magical! Wishing you a blessed year ahead…

  14. Madman says:

    I remember having seen these incredible pictures and video on Youtube… πŸ™‚ Thanks for the share!

Leave a Reply

