See the beauty

There was a wonderful quote in the newspaper that touched my heart for a few reasons. “Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see the beauty, believe in them and try to follow where they lead”. — Louisa May Alcott. Ah, dear Louisa—she had such a way with words.

Of course, I love the quote because of how it inspires me. It is so important to me to have goals, high aspirations, lofty heart-lifting goals and words. It feeds my optimism. It strengthens my spirits when they are flagging. It keeps me moving toward God’s aspirations for me as I discover them.

Beyond that there is another reason I love the quote. It is by Louisa May Alcott. I have written before of the triumvirate of authors that inspired me to write when I was a young lass: Louisa May Alcott, Maud Hart Lovelace, and Laura Ingalls Wilder. I discovered these three authors when I was about 7 and living in Winona, MN. Each of these women’s books contained a character that longed to be a writer. There were countless authors subsequent to these 3 that inspired me….but I always carried Jo, Betsy, and Laura in my heart.

In my mind’s eye I WAS them. I still am. I still write my heart and thoughts to make a difference. I still aspire to see, reach, and become the beauty in the world (metaphorically speaking).

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to See the beauty

  1. Hi Kate, I read all the books by Laura Ingalls Wilder too. When I taught elementary school, I loved reading aloud from books by C.S. Lewis, Madeleine L’Engle, and other authors. Love your quote by Louisa May Alcott. I don’t know of Maud Hart Lovelace. Happy New Year, Ellen

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I think I must have read A Wrinkle in Time a half dozen times. I didn’t discover C.S. Lewis until high school, somehow. Lovelace wrote the Betsy Tacy series. It is lovely, wonderful…..Take a peek for them over on Amazon….Happy New Year to you, too Ellen!

  2. Cathy Monteiro says:

    I had never heard of Maud Hart Lovelace before, and I’m quite the reader. Thank you for introducing me to a new author I can fall in love with.

    Cathy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh my gosh…i can’t believe that—start with “Betsy Tacy” (the 1st one) and read ALL of them. Lois Lenski did the illustrations. They take place in a little town in MN…oh i just loved them. Did you read “All of aKind Family” series? The “Beany Malone” series?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh my gosh…i can’t believe that—start with “Betsy Tacy” (the 1st one) and read ALL of them. Lois Lenski did the illustrations. They take place in a little town in MN…oh i just loved them. Did you read “All of aKind Family” series? The “Beany Malone” series?

  3. dogear6 says:

    I wrote a review of “The Wilder Life” where Wendy McClure followed Laura’s path around the country. It was really good, but it did help me realize that the fantasy of being Laura Ingalls was just that – a fantasy. Not in a negative way, but in being more realistic.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2011/07/30/fantasy-of-being-laura-ingalls-wilder/

    Nancy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I haven’t read that yet, Nancy. I will have to add it to my list. I grew up in MN–so I was always especially devoted to the Little House books.Isn’t it funny that even back when Laura wrote her books that authors and publishers had to go with what would be more commercially viable? Yet Laura created such memorable moments that a lot of us wanted to BE her…

Leave a Reply

