Christmas Eve

What a joyous Christmas Mass we attended. The children’s choir was in full voice and were perfect velvet-clad angelic boys and girls. It is impossible to choose just one favorite Christmas carol from the Mass. What did they sing? Adeste Fideles, Joy to the World, Silent Night, Angels we have heard on high, Away in a Manger, and others that escape me at the moment. Tonight I am filled with reverence, awe and yes, exhaustion. We drove around after church and looked at the beautiful Christmas lights.

Then we came home and had a wonderful dinner: I made carrot soup, salad, whole wheat pasta with mushrooms, crab, olive oil and garlic. Oh it was lovely, elegant, and delicious. We just had such a lovely time talking, laughing, and sharing our evening together. After dinner there was gift wrapping, and we watched It’s a Wonderful Life. Of course I cried at the closing scene…when everyone pours into George Bailey’s home. It feels me with gratitude for the many, many blessings that God has sent my way.

This, my first year of blogging has brought many major health crises in my family….more than I thought could happen. Yet, sitting here tonight I say ‘gosh that wasn’t so bad’. I say that knowing there is another arduous round of health challenges in the coming year. But, I haven’t gone through the past year alone. My little family, of course, has had each other. But beyond that I have had so many people lift me up in prayer and in words and deed. How did I come to be so blessed?

I will tell you. We know sometimes when we pray God says “wait” or God says “no”. We know sometimes God says “yes”. We know other times, God says “I have another plan”. This latter one has been a message many times this year. So tonight, I rejoice. Even though some of His plans have at times made my heart ache, the things that accompanied those plans have been restorative, grace filled and wondrous. “God is not dead nor doth he sleep” wrote Henry Wadsworth Longfellow in I hear the bells on Christmas day. That part of that song makes me cry because it is beyond joyous. Sigh. I know. I sometimes cry at the sentimental Hallmark commercials. :-).

I have such hope for the world tonight. Jesus is born and the darkness is shattered. The darkness can no longer overcome those who light the world. He is here.  “Gloria in excelsis Deo”. ❤  .  We belong to Christmas. It is no wonder that Christmas delights us. It is now wonder that the holy music of Christmas moves our hears (as opposed to let’s say ‘I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause” or ‘Santa Baby’. Give me Silent Night, Adeste Fideles, Joy to the World, Angels We Have Heard on High, The First Noel, Hark the Herald Angels Sing, and It Came Upon a Midnight Clear anyday. 

My thoughts are meandering, and I think I am going to go ahead and post. I had hoped tonight for eloquence. but how can I be eloquent when I am filled with gratitude for the birth of Jesus? I cannot do anything but thank Him; I cannot do anything but say Merry Christmas, and you are in my prayers to all who read these words. May God richly bless you through the ‘tidings of great joy’.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Eve

  1. dogear6 says:

    I think you very eloquent! I’m glad you posted your meandering thoughts. I found from experience those can actually make some really good posts.

    Merry Christmas to you!! Enjoy today.

  2. ElizOF says:

    You were eloquent in sharing your joy and that is enough! A beautiful Merry Christmas to you! 🙂

  3. hugmamma says:

    We’re kindred souls…feeling…and loving…people, life, and God.

    simply eloquent…and elegant…you are, dear friend. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      We are kindred souls. If you ever get to AZ (or I to Hawaii) we must meet….but I feel as though we already have—that’s how kindred souls are. God bless your day, sweet hugmamma 🙂

Leave a Reply

