Pear but: no tree and no partridge!

The Christmas carols are everywhere today. They are even in my heart. I remember when I was in grade school and we learned Christmas carols for a Christmas program. I loved Oh come all ye faithful….especially in Latin. I loved Silent Night….when we gathered at my mom’s parents we would sing it joyously in English. When we gathered at my dad’s parents some of us would sing it in English and some in Norwegian. Regardless both songs always mean Christmas to me. At Mass I weep tears of joy for both songs…and Joy to the World….and Angels we have heard on high….and one of my dad’s favorites—It came upon a midnight clear….and another of my mom’s…A Christmas Rose…Hark How the Bells…..oh and the part in I heard the bells on Christmas Day that goes like this. “God is not dead nor doth he sleep”….ah so many beautiful, beautiful songs. Where was I? Oh yes, the Christmas program. When we were little we struggled mightily to memorize all 12 verses of The 12 days of Christmas…but we performed it perfectly for the parents 🙂

So here is my Christmas pear…..and a Christmas wish for one and all…a few days early! Merry Christmas. I am rich beyond measure in friends–here in the blogging world and everywhere else in my life…..God is so very good to me. Thank you…

Charcoal sketch: Pear

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pear but: no tree and no partridge!

  1. And struggling mightily to memorize all of Luke 2! A gift!

  2. dogear6 says:

    I designed Valentine cards last year on Shutterfly that used a similar theme, that I was a rich woman in all the way that counts. The cards for everyone else said the same thing too. It’s a great theme and I’m glad to see it on your blog.

    I actually posted it on my blog:
    http://livingtheseasons.com/2011/02/07/valentines-card/

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Wow! There it is…love your post; how beautiful! I have been thinking about the movie It’s a Wonderful Life all month long, and the closing seen when Harry Bailey says that George Bailey is the richest man in Bedford Falls….Then George opens his gift from Clarence, his guardian angel. His angel tells him that no man is poor if he has friends (or something like that)…it always makes me weep. There have been numerous times this year when friends rushed to support me emotionally and spiritually. As the year draws to a close I am more aware than ever how blessed I am by the precious gift of friends. Back in April, when my son was hospitalized….last December when I was very ill due to Bell’s Palsy….and just reflecting throughout the year… In this part of the country the economy has been in bad shape and people suffering. i am glad you linked your blog—and thrilled at your joyous wealth of friends….

Leave a Reply

