When life gives you lemons, make lemonade…but….

I would imagine almost everyone has heard the expression “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. I have heard it most of my life. The implication to me is “Quit your whining, get busy, make the best of things and move on”. I was raised by Greatest Generation parents—and that was certainly their outlook about oh so many things. So yes, when presented with problems, heartache, loss, heartbreak, and obstacles….well…I can only dwell, mope, cry, and complain for just so long. I mean how long can I stomach hearing myself throw a pity party?

Some people have said they admire that quality in me. I do not think of it as anything all that extraordinary. Almost everyone reaches the point where they roll up their sleeves and begin to try to solve the problem….basement flooded?? break out the sponges….someone in the hospital? go visit….etc. you get the idea. Some days however, the challenge, loss, heartache or heartbreak seems overwhelming….even to me the perennial optimist. Now that is not the case today, not even remotely. However, on my recent trip to our local farmers’ market something really caught my eye. I bought it and took photos. It is the biggest lemon I have ever seen. The farmer had a LOT of big lemons….I took a picture of the lemon I bought with a soup can so you can see the comparison. It just strikes me as metaphorical. Even the biggest lemon can turn into one big pitcher of lemonade. And no problem or anything else can separate us from God’s love.

And I am also including a photo of the lemon with some other produce so you can get another idea of the scale of that lemon. NO problem is too big for God. We can get through anything.

My son is one of the best metaphorical-lemonade makers ever. He wrote a guest post on my blog today. You will find it hereΒ https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/against-all-odds-a-christmas-miracle-of-sorts/

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When life gives you lemons, make lemonade…but….

  1. Louise says:

    I love this post! What an amazing lemon. I too believe in making lemonade out of lemons.

    Merry Christmas!

    Cheers,
    Louise

  2. Wow! That thing is huge! I wouldn’t be able to resist making lemonade. πŸ™‚

  3. Did you see the “Pop-eye the Sailor” movie? Remember Olive’s song?
    But he’s LARGE.! πŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I saw that movie but i cannot remember anything except the image of Robin Williams squinting and twisting his mouth…i have to watch it again!!

      • Well, when we like a movie around here, we quote it a lot. So . . . when something is humungous, we try to sing like Olive, those few words: But he’s LAR-AR-ARGE. It’s sort of a personal thing in our family, literary allusions as jokes that only a very few would get, but boy-o-boy, does that lemon ever qualify!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          We do that too!!! We are constantly quoting from “What About Bob” with Richard Dreyfuss and Bill Murray [baby steps….i’m doin’ the work…etc}

        • Kate Kresse says:

          isn’t it wonderful all the family shorthand that we develop? I love it! When we saw the lemon we said “now THAT’s a LEMON” in reference to “now that’s a knife–from Crocodile Dundee :-)”

  4. niasunset says:

    This is wonderful dear Kate, I haven’t known before this lemon expression… I loved how you make the things beautiful… Philosophically, it is great touches and so meaningful… Thank you, and also Thank you for visiting my blog too. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Nia your blog is truly wonderful. The lemon expression is one I grew up with. My parents and teachers said it…Bobby Kennedy (who was brother to President John Kennedy) often said it. I don’t know the origin of the expression. But perhaps. I should research that and let people know! The saying has great meaning to me as well, and often inspires me to get out of a sad or worried mood. Blessings to you this holy season.

  5. dogear6 says:

    I loved you post. It gets hard sometimes though to keep having to make so much lemonade!

Leave a Reply

