Open My Eyes, Lord….Help Me to See

There is a song we sing at church that begins “Open my eyes, Lord, help me to see your face (i don’t know the rest of the verse); the next verse begins Open my ears Lord, help me to hear your voice… and the final verse begins “Open my heart Lord, help me to love”….

I was thinking about that song on the 9th of December. That is when I FINALLY put up my Christmas lights outside and set up my artificial tree. I had set up my mantel with the nativity set and some other things a few days before. [Should you be wondering why those are on the mantle—three reasons–the Lab, the kitty and the other kitty].

Anyway, with our artificial tree, besides sticking the branches into the holes on the “trunk” you have to fluff the branches and bend them every which way so that they can hold ornaments and/or Christmas lights. If you don’t do that the tree just looks like a vertical stick with a bunch of weird green horizontal sticks sticking out of it. If you fluff them and bend them—they can hold the decorations and support/contain the lights.

As I turned the tree on last night I thought, oh how metaphorical is that? I mean we cannot absorb God’s blessings, guidance, light if we do not allow ourselves to be transformed. God gives us that choice. He always gives us the choice. He hopes we choose Him and His ways. When we do, we are no longer horizontal sticks unable to contain the lights and ornaments of life. When we allow Him through His guidance, tests, ups, and downs, to transform us….well it is then a holly, jolly Christmas. Do you think I put enough commas in that last sentence? When will I learn πŸ˜‰ ?

So open my eyes each day Lord. I want my branches to bend and lift so that they call out to you and are transformed by you.

I pray today finds each of you full of light and joy.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Open My Eyes, Lord….Help Me to See

  1. Madeline says:

    This is a great post and a wonderful metaphor too! Christmas peace and blessings to you and the family!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Christmas blessings right back to you and your family too, Madeline!! Hope it is a peaceful lovely time. Hope you get a chance to put your feet up–literally and figuratively πŸ™‚

  2. Aa–you need another comma! πŸ™‚ Just kidding.

    Nice thoughts. “Kate-ish” thoughts. πŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks! You always have just the right thing to say,,,,,,,,,, and you are,,,,,, as always, kind and loving. Ok, i’m in a silly mood. My Christmas break is almost upon me πŸ™‚

  3. I will never view my artificial tree the same way. Thank you so much for this metaphor! (Oh, and my Nativity set finds its home atop my TV cabinet for the same reasons yours is up high, plus one more kitty.)

    A very Merry Christmas to you and yours, Kate!

Leave a Reply

