Shu–shu–shu–Sugar Town

We are entering the baking, candy, and sweets time of the year, aren’t we? Of course, when it comes to candy and sweets I do have a bit of a sweet tooth year ’round. This charcoal sketch is here to taunt your sweet tooth! The day we drew this cut open candy I was fortunate to be seated next to the student who drew everything huge. The size of our 18/24 paper. I didn’t do that, but by observing her steady, confident expert hand I was able to draw the nuts in the candy bar and the edges and top swirl pretty well. (Said she, modestly).

I remember with such fondness the years of baking with my own family when I was young; the years of rolling out kringla with my grandma and my aunts and cousins in MN; the years of baking with my son when he was a sweet little tyke; I remember candy in the Christmas stockings; I remember how full of fun and hope my son was about Christmas. He was so cute—one year he asked Santa to bring me a special quilt because i was always busy making quilts for others.  So this time of year candy and cookies have always been more than just treats. They have been associated with sweet moments with sweet people. I thought of that when I drew this candy bar. I think of the people i love when I make or buy the treats. I think of the sweetness their love adds to my life. And I smile. And perhaps I sing a little bit of Shu-shu-shu….shu-shu=shu…Sugartown. 🙂

Candy Time in Sugar Town

Even though perspective drawing is an issue for me, i did ok!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes, Sketches, quilts, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shu–shu–shu–Sugar Town

  1. Kathy says:

    I find Christmas full of sweet memories as well as treats, too. Love the picture…Snickers bar (my favorite)?

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Sweet.

Leave a Reply

