If you needed more time, where would you take from? Daily Post Topic #323

If you needed more time, where would you take from?. I have to say that the place I grab time from is the middle of the night. When my tasks outnumber my normal hours I tend to be awake in the middle of the night. The house is quiet and I can catch up a bit. it is a peaceful time, and I love the added time. Of course it would be great to sleep a full night every night. But these days there is much that needs to get done. I can’t take time away from my students or my family. If I take time away from my students, I don’t get paid. That would not be good. More than that, though, the students need my help! I surely don’t want to take time away from my family, either.

When I get up in the middle of the night I can catch up with God and catch up on chores. The fact that it IS the middle of the night limits me to quiet chores. I can sweep or scrub, but not vacuum. I can make my lists, write letters, file, blog, and dust, but I am not going to take off to do errands :-). I can even make a batch of soup. This time of year I can even work on my Christmas cards—which I may do tonight.

God restores my soul in a special way in the middle of the night. And I get the chance to see one of my kitties be goofy. Right now he is meowing and pawing on our glass sliding door. He sees his reflection and thinks a cat is outside. Silly Sammy. I love that I can finish my thoughts and not be rushed in the middle of the night. Nightime is a lovely time when I need to re-group.

.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If you needed more time, where would you take from? Daily Post Topic #323

  1. auntyuta says:

    Usually I like the early morning hours when I can do things in quiet surroundings. I tend to get too tired to do a lot of things before going to bed. I love to go to bed early and get up early.
    Occasionally I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t go back to sleep. I like to get up then and use the time for reading or writing till I get tired again and can go back to sleep. If I’ve had already about six or seven hours of sleep I probably won’t get tired again and just stay up and enjoy the time I have to myself.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Often what happens with me is I get tired. I head to bed. I fall asleep. I wake up about an hour and a half later and can’t fall back asleep. I get up and read or write (or maybe do a chore or two). About 5:30 I fall asleep reading. But by 7 I have to be up and getting things done for my family. Other nights I don’t wake up at all. I do enjoy the quiet when the household is asleep, though.

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    If I get up in the middle of the night, the best I can manage is tv while lying on the couch. I prefer to stay asleep 🙂

  3. tbnranch says:

    Me too! I like to get up before the sun, sometimes way before! You are right, it’s so peaceful – and a perfect time to write.

  4. I stay up. I feel I must have six hours of sleep if I can, but if I go to bed at 12, I can rise at 6 with my husband and never miss time with him. Like you, I have found the quiet things are more fun to do in the quiet.

Leave a Reply

