Stretching and Redefining: Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner

I have written before about moving to various cities. There are times in my life concurrent with a move or unrelated to a move when I have felt the need or urge to challenge myself or grow or change. I don’t like just being in a set mold all the time. I like to believe that I am capable of growth, learning, change. When I lived in NJ I learned to knit (and tons of other things) from my dear friend Pattie. I was amazed at the time that I could do it at all! She is a patient friend and a terrific teacher. She instills confidence in people. She would say–in her wonderful NH accent—“Kate, you CAN do this”!! She was right, of course. When I moved to OH, my dear friend Danna taught me all kinds of painting, decorating, refinishing, interior design type things. Plus she knew where I could get the best deal on anything and everything. We scoured the thrift shops for the best buys.  My sisters-in-laws have taught me all kinds of things too—so many things that it is hard to know which to list and which to leave out. Recently I learned how to can fruit and pumpkin bread from a fellow blogger…..so I just keep right on learning. I am learning a bit about composition and lighting by looking at the photographs posted by fellow bloggers.

Now, when I was in high school and college I was required to earn some credits in the fine arts. In elementary school I was terrible at drawing and painting. So in high school I took speech and drama. In college I took speech and art history. I admired and envied those who could draw and paint. But there was no way I would try it. No way. Then my son started college. It seemed more than a little disingenuous to urge him to grow and stretch and try new things while refusing to try art. So I tried a drawing class at the community college. I decided it didn’t matter whether I was great at it or horrible at it. What mattered was that I tried it and really threw myself into the effort.

Guess what? Some of it I did pretty doggone well at. Other things? Not so much. In the not so much category would be perspective drawing such as buildings, boxes, and the like. In the pretty doggone well category? Still lifes mainly. You are lucky. I am going to post photos of my charcoal sketches. I will try posting a photo a day. I hope you like seeing them as much as I liked drawing them. I know now how important it was for me to try a drawing class. I was telling someone who has known me for a long time that I was good at drawing onions and apples. She said “really? you?”. That irritated me until I realized—when had I ever given her any reason to believe differently? I apparently had been hiding in the corner made of my own volition. And you know the saying, “Nobody puts Baby in a corner”. Nope, not even Baby. I got another light out from under the bushel basket! That makes me thankful. Of course, I have been storing (or is it hiding) my charcoal sketches in a Portfolio Case for 4 years now. What is the deal with that? So I took one out and framed it. I took photos of the rest of them. Now I will boldly share them with those who follow my blog.  ❤

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stretching and Redefining: Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I look forward to seeing your artwork 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks—Do need your sage advice about best size for photos on the blog post. Yours always look so perfect. I was guessing they were medium sized and centered. Is that correct?

  2. Mary Egan (SMC) says:

    Katie, I didn’t know you “couldn’t” draw before, but now it doesn’t matter because now you can!
    I look forward to reading more of your postings.

Leave a Reply

