The Beauty of Thanksgiving

I love the pace of Thanksgiving. Some years we go to my in-laws. That, of course is a delight. My amazing sister-in-law pulls together an extraordinary feast. We zoom around the kitchen together, peeling potatoes, laying out snacks, pulling the dinner together. She always has a terrific plan, with all the fixings, and the perfect wine. While we peel the potatoes we listen to “Alice’s Restaurant” on the stereo. Our kids used to roll their eyes. This year they would probably sing along but still giggle at us. We eventually all sit down to eat after everyone arrives. We celebrate my husband’s birthday as it always falls near Thanksgiving. We play games, talk, laugh, watch football and have a grand time. But we didn’t go to my in-laws this year. We went in September instead.

Some years we go to my family. Everyone either comes to my mom’s for the day or we go to my brother’s house. It is crazy chaos with everyone talking, laughing, arguing and eating all at the same time. Everyone pitches in and does something to help get dinner on the table. The day before Thanksgiving we make the pies and the cranberry sauce. So the pies tease us all day long by looking delicious :-). The kitchen is packed with family after dinner in the dining room: some are finishing cutting what is left on the turkey off of the turkey. Some are packaging up leftovers to squeeze in the fridge. Some are doing dishes. Everyone is talking. After that—games and talking or watching tv together. But we didn’t go to my family’s house either.

We stayed home. I brined the turkey the day before. In the morning I made the vegan pumpkin pie. We aren’t vegans [as evidenced by aforementioned turkey]. My husband can’t have eggs or dairy. Well, the recipe I found for vegan pumpkin pie turned out GREAT. Anyway, in the morning we put on Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade. We had breakfast at a leisurely pace. All day long the emphasis was on leisurely. We called our families. We chopped the veggies and made roasted veggies while the turkey rested (post-oven). We had a wonderful dinner: turkey, roasted veggies (potatoes, sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, red peppers, mushrooms, carrots), and cranberries. It was wonderful. Later in the evening we had our pumpkin pie. We watched football and we played cards. We laughed, loved, and had a lovely day.

The beauty of Thanksgiving is that it is beautiful to give thanks, no matter what its shape and form. God is good and gracious; He blesses us each day.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beauty of Thanksgiving

  1. You know, I never thought of it before, but Jesus gave thanks.
    So when we give thanks, we are imitating Him. Is that not the beauty of it?
    Loved this post. Thanks! šŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Like all good children we should spend more time thanking our Father and pleasing Him than asking Him for favors! Jesus always thanked the Father. It is a joy to have the opportunity to imitate and follow Him. Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

