The Joy of living Many Places

I was fortunate to move many times as I grew up. It stood me in good stead when I spent a semester in Italy in college. I bought a Eurail Pass and explored many countries (whether or not I could find a buddy in the exchange program that wanted to go there, too). I was independent, curious, and love with the idea of seeing as much as I could. I took an architecture course, an art history course, and an opera course. I took voice lessons (only for a short while, though). The woman who taught voice kindly suggested I switch to piano—she told me my voice was not suited for opera singing. She was right, of course.

Since I married I have moved many times as well to various parts of the US. It has been thrilling. With each move I have learned to appreciate new ideas, ways, and concepts. I grew up in MN and IL and thus loved rivers and lakes. I had not been regularly near the ocean until after I married. Then we lived in NH and NJ (in addition to MN and OH). I completely fell in love with the ocean and the mountains. I am in AZ now and instantly fell in love with the desert. The beauty of God’s wonderful creation restores me. The nearly constant sunshiny skies are just breathtaking and put a spring in my step!

Contrary to what many believe, we do have seasonal changes in Phoenix. Some of our trees even change colors! Here is proof in the photo that my sweet husband took of one of our trees in full color.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joy of living Many Places

  1. Kate, I know the feeling! We have moved about 15 times in 40 years of marriage. Changing residences is fine, but the work! I’m ready to settle down. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Wow! You have us beat! 7 times in 28 years of marriage. 12 times before I got married. When I lived in NJ a good friend of mine was the wife of a just retired Army officer. She called me one day and said–‘it’s time for Vinny’s orders to come in. The carpets are dirty’. She had moved a LOT during his army career.

Leave a Reply

