Write a post honoring veterans: Daily Post Topic #304 11/12

Write a post honoring veterans. The past few days I have been writing about my dad. He was a Marine. Today it just so happens the gurus at Daily Post have decided we should honor our veterans. Today I honor those who served in our armed forces. I honor the man I met at the food pantry last summer. He served under George Patton. I honor the dads of women I knew in college who served in WWII and Korea. I honor my dear late father-in-law who was a naval officer in the Korean War. He shipped out very shortly after he married my beloved mother-in-law. I honor my uncles who served in WWII and Korea. All these men are true heroes and honorable great men. I am forever grateful to each of them. I also honor my mom’s friend—she was a WAC and officer in WWII. Of course not a day goes by that I am not also thankful for one of my late father’s best friends Don. He participated in the magnificent Berlin Air Lift. He, too has recently gone on to his heavenly reward….what a reunion THAT must have been.

I honor those from my generation who have served in Vietnam and all the time since then. They all have served selflessly and bravely. They sacrificed much to do their sworn duty. This includes my brother, sister-in-law, cousins, late cousins, friends, and late friends.  How can they be so courageous? I could not have summoned that level of courage so I am even more thankful for their strength and service. I admire them greatly and am truly thankful. Lastly, I thank my cousins, friends, and sons and daughters of my friends who currently serve. Many of them have done multiple tours in Iraq and Afghanistan.

What was it JFK said? “We will pay any price”. Have we ever. We continue to do so. They stand at the ready. Oorah to each. [if that is a cheer only Marines are to share among themselves, I do apologize!]. Thank you to all Veterans and to their families who share in their sacrifice. A grateful nation salutes you.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Write a post honoring veterans: Daily Post Topic #304 11/12

  1. auntyuta says:

    Both my husband and I grew up in West-Berlin. We are forever grateful to those who participated in the magnificent Berlin Air Lift.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I am so glad Don and the others participated. So insistently brave and service oriented. Don spent his whole career in the Air Force. He was most proud of the chance to be part of the Berlin Air Lift.

  2. My dad and my husband both served: Korea and Nam.
    To me, though, they just seem like Dad and Honey. They have kept their private agonies private, and I can do no more than respect that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

