Semper Fi: What My Dad Taught Me After the Marines

My dad was a Marine. He was not in the Marines for his whole career. He was in for 2 years during the Korean War. I do know that when it comes to the Marines one doesn’t say “he was a Marine” until you are standing graveside. My father is deceased.

He was a wonderful dad, and he WAS Semper Fi–always faithful. He was faithful to God, he cherished and lived his faith. He was faithful to his wife (my mom) until he died. They were a romantic couple. They were a model of good marriage. They took time for each other. They had date nights. us kids did NOT come first—their marriage did. No, that did not make us feel unloved, overlooked or unsafe. It made us feel that we fit in to the family precisely where we should fit in. We knew that the world didn’t spin on our axis. We were to spin on the family axis, which is to say God’s axis.

Dad had a fabulous sense of humor. He had a joy of living, he would do the old soft shoe when he came down the hall to the kitchen. He would go for his long walks around the neighborhood. He noticed everything. If there were low branches hanging over a sidewalk that were in the way of pedestrians, he would take his loppers along on the walk and prune it so no one would get hurt. He knew if there were elderly people living in a house. He would pull their trash cans back up by their house for them. If someone got stuck in the snow he would help push their car back out. He was free with his advice and his heart. He expected us to do our best. If we were sorrowing, he comforted us. He also urged us forward.

He taught me to never quit. he taught me to be steadfast and never give up. He was quick to remind us when it was marine corps’ birthday. September 10, 1775. He always stated that the Marines were 1 year older than the country. He wanted us to always be there for each other. He urged us to always love. He wasn’t harsh. He set limits and the limits were consistent. He laughed. He sang. He whistled—a lot. He didn’t say ‘semper fi’ very often. Actually he said it hardly at all.

Yet his whole life said it. He was the personification of Semper Fi. He was faithful and faith filled. As I said during his eulogy, he was the very model of noble, loving, steadfast, joyful Christian man. When I did find someone that wasn’t already related to me that had those qualities….I married him. He like my dad is the love of my life. Semper Fi dad. Happy Marine Corps birthday. I miss you.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Semper Fi: What My Dad Taught Me After the Marines

  1. Pingback: Veterans Day with My Dad | Believe Anyway

  2. Thanks to your Dad, my Dad, my husband, my nephew, and all the other veterans.
    (I noticed you have written “he lied his faith” in this post, which I am sure is meant to say “he lived his faith” instead. I thought you would want to know.)

  3. auntyuta says:

    Wonderful Dad, Kate. Thanks for sharing. This is a very moving piece of writing.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      This gem of a video was sent in as a comment. Anyone who is feeling lazy or unfocused would really benefit from watching it. Anyone who loves an inspirational story will love it. Semper Fi

Leave a Reply

