Overspending seasons is here already: Funny Story

How do you know when to hold ’em, and when to fold ’em?. I don’t always know when to do that. Here is a funny story that proves exactly that. Boy oh boy, everywhere I go there are Christmas decorations and displays already. They are even up in the gas station convenience store. This year will be different. Most of the people we “gift with” are in similar difficulties this year. So hopefully no one will feel they need to spend a lot. Hopefully we will be restrained and remember that no one will really feel hurt if we spend just a little bit. Honestly, it really isn’t about the gift anyway. I am hoping that my focus will be on God and family this year—and not errands, wrapping, shipping, shopping…..I get so easily caught up in busyness.

One year early in my marriage I decided I was going to bake people things for Christmas and just do a teensy bit of other gift buying. While that was a noble beginning, my story will show you what happens in my mind. I decided to make cut-out cookies and pumpkin bread for my friends and relatives. I thought well about 3 dozen cookies and a loaf of pumpkin bread per person would be a good gift. Sounds simple, right? Oh and I almost forgot–2 dozen kringla {which is a Norwegian treat that you roll out kind of like pretzels, but it is sweet and baked}.  Well, since I was doing it for my aunts and uncles that lived right in our town I decided I had better do it for their kids (my beloved cousins) as well. Since I was doing it for them, I needed to do it for my parents, siblings, and my in-laws that lived elsewhere. Before I knew it I was baking for about 25 people after I added in some church friends. Yeah…75 dozen cookies and 25 loaves of pumpkin bread. The pumpkin bread was the easy part.

In my family when i was growing up, my dad rolled out the dough for pie crusts and cut out cookies. I had never done it. I didn’t have a clue as to how to do it…..I assumed all dads did that. So I mixed up the dough and stuck it in the fridge. I awaited my husband’s return from work. I informed him that the dough for the cut out cookies was chilled and he could roll it out after supper. He said “I have never done that and I don’t know how”. Yeah. LOL. Dough for 75 dozen cookies…. We learned, but it wasn’t at all pretty and many of them were way to flour-y.  We refer to it as our “bake-bake-bake” Christmas…..

Let’s just say we try very hard not to overdo…..some years it has been sewing or craft projects. Fortunately, my friends, relatives, and even I have gained some wisdom. In my case, it is only some….But in my wish to be fair with people, sometimes a simple idea gets to be a mess because i am doing it for everyone…..and they may not even care if i am fair!

So hopefully I will not overspend in either money or time!!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Overspending seasons is here already: Funny Story

  1. I’m toying with baking for everyone this year. We’ll see if my schedule actually allows for that much time in my kitchen. 😉

  2. Love this Post, Ms. Kate! 🙂
    Really enjoyed it! 😀
    Bless You,
    Thaanie ♥
    🙂

  3. Better to have help. Call me. I’ll be right over! 😐

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Definitely. When I lived in Minneapolis I would go over to my Aunt Gwen’s when my grandma was in town. They, my cousins, and I would do the kringla roll-out thing and sometimes even make fudge. it was so much fun….we’d roll the kringla and laugh and eat and have a spectacular time. Way different experience when I was making everything myself or even with my husband! I’ve read stories in the newspaper and in magazines over the years about families and groups of friends that get together one day early in the season and do a cookie bake and cookie exchange. But I only got to be part of one of those once. And that was just an exchange where you brought 10 dozen cookies to exchange and ended up with a dozen each from 10 other people. Come on over.

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Maybe you need to draw names?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      We have done that some years on my husband’s side of the family. The cousins and aunts and uncles that are in MN (where I was when my story took place) and I only exchange when we are together in person. But I seem to develop the same tendency with whoever is around me wherever I live. I think to myself, Gee, so-and-so is so nice to me and was so thoughtful. She made soup and brought some over. So I think “yeah, I will make her cookies (or a wall hanging or whatever”….then I start remembering many others that were thoughtful too. And I think—well I will do the same for them too….” So yeah, I either need to draw names or in some cases just write a lovely note. In many cases there was no precedent for this gifting…[until i set one :-)]

Leave a Reply

