The Greatest Generation

The Greatest Generation is a term coined by the newsman Tom Brokaw. He referred to those who came of age during the Depression and World War II. He speaks often of their unparalleled efforts to change and improve the world. Fortunately for me, I was raised by members of the Greatest Generation. I greatly admired my parents, aunts, uncles, teachers and their peers. I found them to be generally filled with wisdom and could see that they saw the big picture. They constantly urged me and my peers to strive, work, love, and do our best.

I knew innately that they were correct about so many things that it really wasn’t worth my while to try and guess if they were wrong. 99.9% of the time they were correct in their life advice for me. It saddens me to see that generation dying off one by one. That means the wisdom of the ages goes with them. I don’t know if I am really ready for that. They have insulated me and us from some of the ramifications of our own foolishness. We are seeing in our economy and my country (the U.S.) that we cannot have our cake and eat it too. Difficult sacrifices and adjustments await. Our elders went through the Depression and made sacrifices. They were selfless. Can we be? My goodness I sure as heck hope so. I really want to see our country strive to be our better selves. I don’t know how to inspire anyone to do that. I am struggling to determine how to inspire myself to do that.

God will see me through. I have been praying fervently for answers. The answers will come. I need to pull up my socks and remember that He will send the answers. I may not like the answers. I will adjust to the answers. I always do. I am one of the Queens of Adjusters….no I am not a chiropractor. I have decided that I do not want to see where the path and bridge are leading. I cannot handle the apprehension and I could fall. Instead, today I will place my hand in His. I will say…lead me Lord. I will follow. I may place my other hand over my eyes so that I can move forward in trust.

Ding! Analogy time!! When my son was in the hospital, one of the ER docs came in to do a blood draw on him. No one had been able to find his vein this time. The doc came in, put the tourniquet on, just like the others had done. Then he sat down, looked at my son’s arm for a second, tapped on his vein. Then, he closed his eyes, felt the vein and put the needle in. Success on the first poke! I couldn’t believe it!! With his eyes closed!! I called him the vein whisperer. I said “how do you do that with your eyes closed”? He said, “I always do. The eyes deceive. Once you know the touch, you succeed pretty much every time”.

So—I want to be the God whisperer. I want to reach for His hand and close my eyes as He leads me forth. He will NOT lead me into danger or take me to a dead end. I have to trust—beFORE I can see that I have good reason to trust. Amen!! Now I feel better.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Greatest Generation

  1. Since we may be headed for a “Greater” Depression, we may need to become a “Greater Generation.” Sighs.

  2. auntyuta says:

    I bet you felt better after writing all this. Wonderful blog, Kate! Thanks for sharing.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks and yeh, i have to admit i did. I have to write in ordr to figure out what i am thinking. anyone else out there feel that way?

      • Until recently, I did not know that about myself, but yes, I am that way. Or, at least, I have caught myself not wanting to write, like last night and tonight, because I do not want to know what I am thinking. Sad.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          wow—i hadn’t thought about that flip side in just those words. i wonder if that is why i procrastinate about writing sometimes….either i don’t want to find out what i am thinking or i have a feeling that what i am thinking is so boring and uninteresting….huh. thanks for making that comment… i have to really mull that over. do you still not want to know what you are thinking or does that feeling just pass—kind of like an almost sneeze??

          • It will pass if I begin writing. It’s a little like several things I don’t want to do, once I begin, the odium of it vanishes like a popped bubble. Right now I am working on the soul/self/personality. I know there is so much to say and I really feal more like writing recipes or something. Even sleeping, which I usually resist, sounds good to me right now, because I know the writing will be hard and I will have to live up to it, after I publish. Silly me.

            • Kate Kresse says:

              You can do it! I have every confidence in you. Given the subject matter that you are working on, I would say the Evil One is desperately trying to drag you away from it! Stay strong

  3. Thanks. I know the enemy is throwing roadblocks up at me. Turns out I may not have to live up to it so much as live it down. We shall see. Lots of people I truly respect are liking it, though, which helps so much when a detractor pops up, or someone totally does not get it. Thank you for your constant getting it. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      and thanks back for constantly teaching it. Love you. praying for wisdom for you with your posts and comment management and the same for me…Glad that you are around. Love you!!

      • You’ll never guess at what gymnastics I must go through just to thank you, here. It sometimes takes ten full minutes to get through. Sighs. I just live in the boonies and have little to no service, I suppose,but it can be disheartening . . . praying for you for wisdom, too. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

