Sunshine in my heart

We moved here to sunny Arizona from Ohio. It was so cloudy and grey in Ohio….it was cloudy and grey a lot. Here it is fully sunny at least 320 days a year. I have found that it makes my heart glad to see all that sunshine. On days when it is grey or overcast or stormy in Arizona, I can keep it in perspective. I know for sure that it will only last a little while. Perhaps I cannot get full credit for being a perennial optimist since it is sunny and that can put me in the mood for skipping.

Wouldn’t it be hilarious if Congress had to skip and sing when they came into the Chambers before debating a bill? Maybe they wouldn’t take themselves so doggone seriously.Sigh.

Anyway, I have blogged lately about saving money, about canning, cooking. I can tell it is fall. It always moves my mind from mental activity to physical activity…It puts me in the mood for making potato soup, beef stew, wonderful port roasts, salmon….sweet potatoes. The other day I was making pumpkin soup and canning some more apples and applesauce. I suddenly realized I had been humming and singing while I was zipping around my kitchen. I was so full of joy!

Since I have had a lot of worries on my mind lately, I was very relieved to see I still had my Inner Tigger. It is important to me to cultivate a joyful spirit and heart. I don’t always want to go before the throne of God with complaints, worries, and requests for Him to fix things. Rather, I want to go before Him, dance before the throne and thank Him for His gifts: the joys, the difficulties, all of it. I realize that with the difficulties, He will bring me through it. He will even see me through the difficulties caused by my own shortsightedness or foolishness. That is a relief. It is a relief because now I remember that I don’t need to obsess over those worries. That does nothing to resolve them. And sometimes, in the midst of chores and cooking, solutions and ideas may come into my head.

I love my life, difficulties, fears, joys, sorrows, sunshine and all. Still here….still a perennial optimist.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunshine in my heart

  1. One of my favorite poems:

    If all of our troubles were hung on a line,
    You would take yours and I would take mine!

    😉

  2. LeRoy Dean says:

    Expressively wonderful!

Leave a Reply

