Call me Pumpkin Girl!!

Earlier I blogged that I had made pumpkin soup. Gosh it was even better the 2nd day. I was in a “fall food” mood since it was Halloween today. I know out east they had cold, snowy weather. Here it was sunny and gorgeous. The trick-or-treaters had 60 degree clear starry weather tonight. I remember most of my childhood (in Minnesota) I “was forced” to wear a winter jacket over my costume. Of course, I WAS usually wearing my ballet costume from the spring recital, and it WAS sometimes snowing and almost always at best in the mid-40s and often colder…..but STILL—laughing now at the umbrage I took at the jacket request.

Anyway, so last Friday I canned sliced apples and applesauce. Sunday I made pumpkin soup. Today—-I made pumpkin bread. My friend taught me how to can pumpkin bread….so that is what I did! I had so much fun and it was mighty easy and “idiot-proof” :-).

I KNOW! I didn’t know either! But I am going to hold you in suspense. I know she is planning on blogging about it—so I will let her go first.ย  I will update soon, I promise! Until my next pumpkin-post I will wish you adieu!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Call me Pumpkin Girl!!

  1. Oh, I’ve given up on that, since WordPress doesn’t work well in Internet Explorer and I had multiple photos, which would not stay in place on the page. Sorry. You have fun with it.

  2. P.S. Love my “Punk” little sis! โค

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Hi Pumpkin Girl – there’s so many yummy things to make with pumpkin – I think too many people just think of the pumpkin as a decoration and not a food. I put more Minnesota photos on my blog today!!! Judy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i just saw them, Judy! i love watching boats go through locks and under draw bridges. I spent many years in Winona and the Twin Cities and my folks had a little boat. so we did the locks many times….endlessly fascinating and always wonderful. Love pumpkin: pumpkin bread or muffins, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin ice cream, pumpkin shakes, pumpkin is so tasty!

      • One thing about pumpkin that few people realize (probably because it seems so rich and satisfying) is that it is rather low in carbohydrates, which means if you make a pudding or pie with it and skip the sugar, you have a very low-carb treat. Mmm! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Kate Kresse says:

          and so rich in beta carotene, too! When you make it without sugar do you use something else like honey, or is it fine with nothing for sweetener?

          • . . . they walk alike; they talk alike; at times they even think alike–YOU COULD LOSE YOUR MIND!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
            I use the much-maligned stevia in almost everything. So politically incorrect! But it works and is not toxic. Imagine!

            • Kate Kresse says:

              when cousins are two of a kind! I haven’t used stevia—will have to give it a go!

              • Well, if you get the kind that is pure with nothing, nothing, nothing added, use less than they say. It just is so sweet, I am usually happy with about half the amount or maybe 3/4. We do use it for most everything, though, even homemade barbecue sauce. Only doesn’t work in cakes, etc., because the stickiness of sugar is part of what holds them together. But in whipped cream–Mmmm.

                • Kate Kresse says:

                  ok thanks. so if not in cakes then not in brownies either i assume. i appreciate the info and the conversion factor. You are such a font of information
                  !

                • I have heard of using non-sugar sweeteners in brownies and I think it might work since they tend to be rather sloppy,anyway, and smaller that a cake, and contained in a pan until consumed. So if you don’t mind limp, they might work with stevia. I would start just with cream or other things we don’t bake, to see if you like it first.

                • Kate Kresse says:

                  That makes sense..will try it in whipped cream and take it from there ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. P.S. Still can’t believe you and I both lived in Winona, once. Hee hee. What a small world!

Leave a Reply

