Will my Jars Seal??

I just had my first adventure in canning. I canned sliced apples and applesauce. It was easier than I expected. My jars are cooling now. This will be the moment of truth. Did my jars seal properly? Or will my family need 2 consume 12 pints of apples and applesauce (12 total including both) in a hurry? Why did I do pints? Because i couldn’t find a pan that was tall enough to do quarts….as it turned out I think pints suit my small family better anyway.

If my jars seal I will feel so sharp, smart, “with-it”, and talented. If none of them seal—-well once we eat all the apples I will try again. Or maybe even sooner.

No, I didn’t make any jelly or jam….or even apple butter. I needed faster closure than that! Plus it is easier to finish a bunch of apples and applesauce than it is to finish a dozen pints of jam or jelly [if the jars don’t seal].

Many thanks to Katharine T for the inspiration to give it a try!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Will my Jars Seal??

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I bet they will seal and they sure will taste good in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

