I write because I must: I hope I don’t intrude

A friend of mine blogged about why she blogs. I have written about it before, too and so has she. But today it gave me pause and caused me to reflect upon it again.

Before I had a computer I regularly journaled. I just had to. I felt it essential to transcribe my thoughts and feelings. I wanted to be able to look back over my journey. I carried my little notebooks around with me and would sit with my coffee or under a tree and write and write. I wanted to journey towards openness. I wanted to heal at times and grow at others. I wanted to continue to journey closer to God. I often had to write in order to “see” my thoughts. Writing it down helped me to figure out what I was thinking. In the same vein, I would talk to friends in order to figure out what I was thinking or feeling. It was in the writing or conversing that I could figure it out and integrate what I was thinking into my personhood if that makes sense. As my Irish American relatives would say, we talk so we can think :-).
This year I journeyed into blogging and I am just loving it. It helps me to try to become the woman God wants me to become. With the health crises of the past year that became necessary to me. Beyond that, I needed to figure out how I am feeling or thinking throughout the week. I did not want to get bogged down into negative thought/behavior patterns. I also sought reinforcement and inspiration from others. I don’t mean that I want people to always say “gee you sure are great Kate”. Instead I knew that people would add their 2 cents worth. This would help me to learn whether or not my path is really where I want to be. Some of my days get so busy with my tasks that I do not stop to think about my thoughts, feelings, or direction.

Through my blog I am learning to be consistent and to be consistently accountable. Accountable to God, accountable to myself, accountable to my community and my friends or family. That is not to say that I had been selfish, self-absorbed or unkind before. Actually I had been pretty thoughtful all along. But I wanted to be even more interconnected. I wanted to be constantly aware of how what I said and did affected/impacted others. I wanted to be a blessing as often as possible in as many ways as possible. I wanted my goal to be “at every moment do what love requires”.

I wanted to be able to read back through my own blog posts and see a visible record of my own journey. I want to be able to see my own little electronic bread crumbs….in the old days perhaps i would have sent messages via various carrier pigeons or placed messages in bottles and tossed them in the sea. I blog because I wanted to be able to journey closer to God and become a lovelier person. I blog because I want to reach out to others…I want to build community.

I want my writing voice to gain depth, timbre, and eloquence. The more I blog the more accountable I feel. The more accountable I feel, the more disciplined I become in my life journey. I have always written….journals, training materials, and a published textbook. It is a thrill and a privilege to blog. The books I loved as a young girl always had a character that wanted to be a writer. (Jo March, Anne Shirley, and Betsy Ray all come to mind).

I love to add quotes and photographs to my blog. I love to see tangible things and I have always loved quotes that keep me focused and inspired. So forgive me if I am at times shall we say verbose. Sometimes I have to write a LOT of words to process and figure out what I am thinking. At some point, perhaps I will move to being more edited, organized, concise…but for now the words appear as they flow through me. Sometimes the words are zigzag patterns….I like to think of them as VanGogh vs Seurat. The words must burst forth. I hope that those who read my blog don’t mind.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I write because I must: I hope I don’t intrude

  1. Gracie Sam says:

    I sure don’t mind Kate! πŸ™‚ That was a lovely post πŸ™‚
    I have just started blogging and I’m enjoying it. It is where I can put into words my thoughts, feelings and journeys in life even though there are days when I’m at loss for words.
    I’m looking forward to reading your posts!

  2. LeRoy Dean says:

    Be true to yourself…blog away! πŸ™‚

  3. amira says:

    Looking back on ones journey is important I guess.
    I for one enjoy doing it. I enjoy reading stuff from years past. Shows just how much we have grown. how much resilience and will power we have. Reading the past I feel more assured that there cannot be any hurdle in life that cannot be overcome πŸ™‚

  4. Kate Kresse says:

    Reblogged this on Believe Anyway and commented:

    Just reminding myself tonight of why I blog. I have been having ongoing internet issues, so I hope this makes it through!!

  5. misswhiplash/Patrecia says:

    came through ..loud and clear..all the way to Bulgaria…Basically I think that we all blog for various reasons but there is one common thread..communication. I love blogging because like you, it is my thoughts in print and I love to make people, smile, laugh or just giggle. I have been reminded that sometimes I give too much information…but hey! this is me..an open book…I am too old to worry about what I say or do not say. I write what I feel and it is always with the Blessing of The Lord. Without Him I would have nothing to write about.
    love in His name

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know what you mean! I am an open book, too. It is too complicated to be any other way. Each day I dedicate to my lovely Shepherd, and pray that m days add goodness and light to the world through His gifts. love to you today, Patrecia—have a blessed, blessed day.

  6. Blogging, both writing and reading, has brought me a lovely community, including you for which I am grateful.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I feel the same way, Mary!! It is amazing. I have been thinking about you and your transition this year. Hope it is going well, and that your daughters are finding the change a good one for each of them, too.

  7. Why would anybody mind? πŸ™‚ May I add Laura Ingalls Wilder to your list?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Definitely! I have written about her at other points. As a gal that grew up in MN I have a true affection for Laura! She and Betsy Ray(and her creator Maud Hart Lovelace) were both MN writer-girls and I have always felt such a connection with them. Hope all is well with you today, Terry!

  8. territerri says:

    So much of what you say here strikes a chord with me. I am constantly saying that I have to say things out loud in order to figure out what I need to figure out. I never really realized it was true for my writing as well.

    And I don’t often tell others that I write. I worry what family and friends will think. I worry about the fact that I need to be very open in my writing, but what will those people think about that openness? You just made me realize that maybe my writing isn’t something to hide, but something to be proud of.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know what you mean, Terri. Sometimes openness can end up biting you in the behind. That has happened to me at times. Some friends and family might not understand, and might hamper your writing and enthusiasm. I believe it is important, no, crucial, to have a place where you can use your voice, unhindered. I believe your blog can and should be your place of safety to be yourself, express your heart, without worry of judgment or reprisal. I’m not saying the blog=world will always agree with you or me. But I have found it a joyous way for me to open my heart in a new way. Your writing is definitely something to be proud of Terri. You are a beautiful, loving woman with dreams, vision, and heart. And I don’t think it is at all odd to worry about what some people might think. After all, it is quite probable that some people may have (in the past) given you good reason to worry about that! With some people you just can’t be as open, if it is important to your heart and spirit to avoid pointless conflict with those people. Write your heart, Terri~as much as you wish, and as much as you are able without reprisal. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

