Who knew that Joan Rivers and I are simpatico?

Joan Rivers can be funny, she can be shrill, and shall we say a tad judgmental. At least that is her schtick. Well, as I was skimming through my positive quotation book I found a quote by her that sounded like me. Who knew? She said “I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door–or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present”. Ok, Joan—I agree! She may think of it as her own version of an optimist, but I believe that it is almost everyone’s version of an optimist. however, I think I am going to skip the zillions of plastic surgeries. I have other things to do with my funds!

I know that when I am feeling down, or discouraged, or just flat out overwhelmed there are times where I just wallow in that feeling for awhile. Then it is as if a tiny bell goes off (like time’s up, girlfriend–ding!). I look around and think hmm…guess I’d better march on, then. Perhaps it is like when I was a little girl and I would fall down and skin my knee. I would cry and wail….and then I would get back up and play or ride my bike again or resume whatever I was doing before I fell. Pretty soon I would forget about my knee and be playing happily…maybe even merrily :-). I love that word merrily. I think it has some pizzazz! It sounds so Longfellow-esque!

Here’s a doorway I walked through—no idea who the person in the photo is!

A doorway to walk through!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

