Chuck Yeager-what a hero!

Maybe it is a byproduct of growing up when the space program was young. Maybe it is a byproduct of the fact that my mom was a stewardess when they were called stewardesses–when it was a glamorous and brave profession in the early 1950s….but to me the astronauts and pilots have always been bigger than life.

There is no bigger, braver, and more wondrous pilot than Chuch Yeager. It was fitting that the magnificent Sam Shephard played Yeager in the movie The Right Stuff. I have read Yeager’s books and find them every bit as thrilling as the man himself. He [like many of the people from The Greatest Generation] knows all about stick-to-it and can-do beliefs. Yeager said “The secret of my success is that I always managed to live to fly another day”.

Heroes are like that, aren’t they? I mean they just keep moving forward and do it. They don’t stay stuck in self-defeating patterns. That generation couldn’t afford to. They had the Great Depression and WWII to deal with. We have big problems in this country. Big, big, big, big big. But we, like Yeager, must keep flying. I have to stop listing the problems and wonder how I got where I am and move forward. I must stay determined to live to fly another day [figuratively, anyway].

My determination to climb every mountain in my path through life (at least figuratively) remains strong. Yes, the climb is arduous. But at the top of that mountain the view will be spectacular. Each difficult climb will build my endurance for yet another climb. By submitting to the discipline and remaining steadfast in my devotion to the challenges God sends to me, I gain such joy. Difficulties in life can give you a gorgeous view, like the view in the photo below!

Grand Canyon views

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chuck Yeager-what a hero!

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    What a view! I swear I’ll get there one day.

Leave a Reply

