Panic Isn’t

Today’s topic was about a bunch of superballs. I couldn’t focus on that topic because my mind has been panicking. But “Panic is not an effective long-term organizing strategy”- Starhawk.

Now I have no idea who Starhawk is. I have a book called The Book of Positive Quotations. I think that is a smart book for a perennial optimist like me to have on her shelf, don’t you? Lately the daily post topics have been a little out of my area: what ingredients to use for a $5,000 sandwich; what to do with $1,000 worth of superballs, etc. Usually I can think of a lot of things to write about most topics. But those—nah, i didn’t feel like trying. Beyond that I couldn’t really come up with anything.

My students were all back from their fall breaks this week and I guess they weren’t the oly ones who had the doldrums! I have had a lot on my mind. The economic situation in my country and my town have had me worried. I know, it is important to put it in God’s hands. I resisted doing that. Why? Because I already knew what our decisions and actions should be. . . and I know that once we are on the far side of having made those decisions that things will improve.

Just the same, I was beginning to panic. Then I read the quote I began with. I know it is true. You cannot get yourself in motion nor can you progress when you are gripped by panic. . . or indecision….or even regrets. Nope, you just have to get going. I like to talk and write in anologies. The funny thing is that when I was growing up my mother did the same thing—-and it drove me CRAZY! Part of the reason it drove me crazy was I just didn’t see/understand the analogy. The other reason is I was a kid! Anyway, I think when we are in the midst of economic/financial difficulties we begin to feel like people that have been exploring a cave or series of caves connected by tunnels. Then all of a sudden the openings/exits get filled in by an avalanche of rocks. We panic, we are filled with fear, we begin to wonder if anyone will rescue us. But the rescuers either don’t or can’t come. We feel helpless. We know it will take forever to dig ourselves out.

Then the reality really hits. We must begin digging ourselves out, 1 rock at a time. Yes it will take a really long, long time. But there is air, survival, and future joy beyond that digging. Fear, sorrow, regret, and panic will no longer cut it. Continuous recitation of worries, difficulties, and all the possible outcomes ended up throwing me into panic mode…I cannot organize my thoughts, my pros/cons, or even my shoes when I am in panic mode. And I only have 5 pairs of shoes!!! 🙂

So after some consideration my hubby and I are thinking like deciders instead of helpless folks. The challenges that will come may overwhelm us but we are united. We know God will sustain us and give us strength. So there is no need to panic! Thus spake the perennial optimist. I pray that we will be wise. I do, however, have an image from the long-ago movie Animal House, where I think it was Kevin Bacon was screaming “all is well….all is well…”. Yeah—I think that may be what Congress is doing at times these days! A wise woman said to me that her husband thinks we should all learn sign language—and that it would eliminate a lot of communication difficulties. I agree!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Panic Isn’t

  1. Kate–Just what I needed to hear TODAY! Thank you for a well timed, well worded slice of wisdom!

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    I would love a book like that!

Leave a Reply

