Marcel Marceau spoke volumes

When I was in college a good friend of mine was part of a group of students that volunteered to be an usher at various concerts and events in the college auditorium. No these weren’t rock concerts. They were events like symphonies, lectures, traveling drama troupes, and the like. The ushers seated the patrons and got to see ther performances for free. I wasn’t part of the group because I didn’t know about it! Yeah, I was a clueless freshman and my friend was a sophomore.

At one point my freshman year, Marcel came to do an evening performance! My friend’s nickname was Pete. Over dinner one night Pete told me they were not goint to have enough ushers for the event and asked if I could do it. Could i? Oh yes I could and did.

The performance was flawless and eloquent as well, although he spoke not a word. After the patrons left, we picked up the leftover programs and ticket stubs. Then we were invited backstage to actually meet Marcel Marceau! Was I starstruck? I sure was! He spoke to us all as if we were the only people on the planet. I shall never forget the sound and lilt of his lovely French accented English. he spoke about mime and the arts being a conduit between people of all races and countries. Oh my, it was just so amazing to hear him.

As an aside, it made me wonder today if there would be a way that we could clearly communicate with each other today in some form of modified mime. It would sure be interesting to see Congress argue and debate using mime. No, I don’t mean everyone giving obscene gestures. I mean trying to actually communicate words, thoughts, and emotions using mime.

But I was just thinking about how the world ages right before our eyes sometimes. One of my students turned 15 today. That young lady is growing up right before my eyes. Her parents continue to do an awesome job with her. She is a lovely young lady, and is appropriately modest in dress, attitude, and speech. She is faithful to her faith, values, and parents. Her future is bright and she has the attitude Marcel spoke of. She reaches out without overpowering, she gives from her heart and works up to her ability.  She sees the beauty God places in the world and is a joy….just like Marcel.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marcel Marceau spoke volumes

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    What a privilege to meet him!

    My husband always says everyone should be able to use sign language, because that would cut through so many barriers.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh Tilly it was such a thrill–especially to a starry-eyed 18 year old like I was at the time! I wish I had written down everything he said…I remember thinking what a beautiful thing it was to get to hear him speak. There were only about a dozen of us at the most. Two of my nieces know sign language and they just love the language. Your husband is right—if we all knew sign language in addition to our native languages we could cut through a lot of the differences in culture, idiom, and expression. [and there would be less screaming 😉 ].

Leave a Reply

