Does technology help you write? Daily Post # 281

Does technology help you write?

The Daily Post Topic #281:

“One comical thing about writers and writing is they often ask each other if there is a secret tool, or software, they use that makes writing easier. Some writers swear by a particular tool, or keyboard, or special software (or WordPress plugin), while others see tools as ways to help with scheduling, or writing related tasks, but see the process of writing simply about putting their but in the chair.

Now that you’ve been writing for awhile, does technology help or not help you in the writing process? What do you wish a tool like WordPress could do to help?

Topic submitted by Spencer at the New Items blog

Technology definitely helps me write! I find that if I am at my keyboard when I write–whether for my blog or something else—I can type about as fast as I can think. Sometimes I just start typing and the words just automaticaly flow! I fid that I really emjoy the exercise. This comes as a surprise to me, as I was always a notebook and pen kind of gal. I would write it and then transcribe it into Word. Now it is much faster to just type it up.

The exception is if I am trying to create a business strategy, a list of things to do, or work out a story plot. Then I need to write it out longhand. This will probably change down the road. I do find, though, if I don’t have at least a laptop size keyboard to type on, then it is a lot slower. For instance, on an Ipad I do not have the knack quite yet. perhaps it is a holdover from the days of the typewriter, but i do love the feel of a typing keyboard.

I have only created documents in word and excel (and on wordpress and email). So I cannot compare with other types of software.

I truly love the process of creating the written word using Word and wordpress. love it, love it, love it <3!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

