Don’t put off ’til.._My post # 278

It is the job that is never started that takes longest to finish.” – J.R.R. Tolkien. So many times I have thought about major goals or lengthy to-do lists as either insurmountable or I have been in a quandry as to how to begin. A couple of months ago I decided to “play catch up” with the daily post crowd and get a whole truckload of posts done. At first it seemed like a ridiculously impossible goal in the midst of my busy life. Then I decided I would try to finish no matter what.

I discovered that sometimes I didn’t use the daily post “prompts’ but had other ideas for posts instead. I began to enjoy the rhythm of doing my posts and found that on some days the words flowed. That was a nice surprise. Since I was posting daily, it became a nice habit. I noticed different things in my life, my research, my reading, or whatever that could be funneled into a post.

So it was the beginning of my effort that was the tipping point. I just began it. Then i let that spread to other parts of my life. Some of the things I had been postponing got done. Now I am impatient about getting other things checked off my list. You see, from my point of view, nothing encourages success like success. If I can climb one hill I can climb another.

I see new possibilities in myself! That is so cool! I am beginning to redefine myself a little bit. Not in a major way, just in the system I use to approach and handle things in my life. I am a teensy bit less likely to procrastinate. That of course fills me with optimism, which of course feeds my perennial optimism!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t put off ’til.._My post # 278

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Inspiring! “if I can climb one hill, I can climb another” 🙂

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    It’s wonderful to hear when someone has taken control of their lives in this way. Well done!

Leave a Reply

