Be patient with yourself-My own post # 275

Sometimes I get so impatient with myself. It feels like “I will never change”. I feel like “i will keep making the same screw-ups over and over”. I read something today that stopped me short. It reminded me how important it is to be patient with myself. Why is that important? Ah yes, I am to love my neighbor as myself. Thus, I must be patient with my neighbor. But I must also be patient with myself. I want to differentiate between being patient with myself and not bothering to try to improve ;-).

What was it I read? It was written by Saint Francis de Sales. Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself. Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections, but instantly set about remedying them–every day begin the task anew.

Indeed. Of course, it is only with God’s help that I can learn to become patient, and only through his assistance that I can lead a life that increases in grace. So today may i be patient with myself. I want to give patience and devotion. Getting angry or discouraged prevents me from progressing and improving. So that is my goal for today. However, in the interest of full disclosure, I must confess that I am already feeling impatient about how little progress I am making in being patient with myself.

On the other hand—if I look back over my own posts this year I can see that I am progressing in my faith journey. I sure am glad that God loves me and takes such good care of me. May I give that gift to others today.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be patient with yourself-My own post # 275

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Be patient! God is not done with you yet. He is creating a masterpiece!

  2. Thanks, for this, Kate!
    When I become shocked and angry with myself, I have found, on painfully close examination, that I had been thinking I was not capable of doing wrong. Once I determined that I was just as bad as the next guy, that burden was lifted. No more reputation to delude myself with. Sure helped me.
    When I remember these things, I begin doing right for the right reasons, too. Much easier. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

