Make a list of 5 things you’re afraid to write about: Daily post #274

Make a list of 5 things you’re afraid to write about. Today’s daily post topic was about things I am afraid to write about. Afraid isn’t exactly the word I would use. Perhaps I would use the word hesitant. There are subjects, topics, opinions that I hesitate to blog about. Why? A few reasons: first of all I am definitely a conflict-avoidance type of person; second, I prefer to fit in/blend in in many circumstances. That doesn’t mean I am wishy-washy by any means. Those that know me well definitely know that I hold firm to my beliefs.

However, I do know that I do not want to be the conduit or spark to begin what becomes an angry discussion. It is difficult to convey things sometimes online. People think you are angry when your opinion is merely firm. I think there is a differenc. People might think you are unfeeling or lack compassion, because someone else they knew who worded things the same way or held the same opinion was unfeeling or lacked compassion. Some might say that it doesn’t matter what others think or feel. However, when I have upset someone by saying or writing something I could have kept to myself just as easily.

I don’t like how I feel about life or how I feel about myself when I end up in the midst of certain kinds of debates. I end up really wanting to bring everyone over to my point of view. What an unrealistic goal that is! They of course, may feel the same way. This, of course, is why I was a lousy debater in HS but a great extemporaneous speaker on speech team. Thus, it is best for my own mental health (and probably others) to avoid certain topics…especially since I do not think I have gathered enough information (preferably from dispassionate sources) to be as well-informed as I would like to be.

OK, after that lengthy intro, the 5 things i am afraid to write about: 1) things I know could be used to steal identities; 2) most political discussions; 3)most discussions about economics, taxes, housing markets, job markets, and the economy in general; 4)discussions that involve issues that could cause my government to put me on one of their ‘persons of interest’ lists…I can’t help that. I still remember Nixon’s enemy lists; 5)differences between the beliefs for my faith and the beliefs held by other faiths.

Of course, in a face to face discussion there are times when i discuss all of these things with people i know well. However, in more recent years, i often decline to reveal much there either. It ends up being a very loud, angry discussion. I don’t like those anymore! I don’t want to be angry with them and I don’t want them angry at me! :-). So that is the deal.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

