Make your own weather – My own Post #273

I am eager for fall colors and crisp air. But today I am thinking of the more metaphorical weather. Bishop Fulton J. Sheen said “Each of us makes his own weather, determines the color of the skies in the emotional universe which he inhabits.” It is my outlook that can determine how my day feels and progresses. I can squint at the sun or be delighted by how the sunshine and shadows play on the leaves of my shrubs and trees. I can see how the flowers lean into the sun. They almost say “mmmh that feels lovely”. I need to do that today—notice God’s delightful presence everywhere, in everything. I need to greet my moments with boundless enthusiasm. Can I do that? Gee I sure hope so. It will make the day a delight. I know i am called to dance in the rain (like Gene Kelly in Singing in the Rain). I know i am called to wait for the rainbow. But I can dance in the sunshine and I can rejoice in my moments.

and I can listen. Rebecca Falls was correct when she said ‘one of the most valuable things we can do to heal one another is listen to each other’s stories.’ In the listening there is grace…in the grace there is beauty…Blessings on your day today…

I get so busy somedays that I forget to see the beauty of God’s creation everywhere… in everyone, in everything…and if there is rain falling in my life (literally or figuratively) may I as my dad always told me “let a smile be my umbrella”.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

