What is joy? – My own post #271

What is joy? Well, Marianne Williamson says that “Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are”. I find this to be really true on both good days and bad days. I have mentioned The Thorn Birds before. There is a scene in the mini-series towards the end where Megghie is bitter and railing and complaining about the lack of love in her life, the hopelessness, the bleakness….blah blah blah. I suppose the message of the moviemaker was that you were supposed to agree with her, sympathize with her sorrow and desolateness at the loss of her son and the unavailability of Father Ralph. But at the same time she is baying at the skies, the camera shows the ranch and the people that have devoted their lives to her. I have mentioned this before, so forgive my redundancy. My point is that sometimes it takes a lot of work, commitment, and devotion to God to recognize how good things really are. In the midst of health struggles and financial struggles I can see that things are really good anyway. How? Oh that is easy to answer this morning. I have people who love me. I have had wonderful mentors, teachers, and wise relatives and friends to guide me on the way. God blessed me with the willingness to listen to and learn from them.  I find joy in the fact that I have not been alone this year. I find joy in the fact that despite my husband’s very stressful job he has been blessed with co-workers that are kind, honest, ethical, bright and clear-headed. I find joy in the fact that my son has a wonderful internship and is learning so much. So there is always joy somewhere in the midst of suffering. Of course there is joy in the joyful times, too….like making new friends, visiting old friends, visiting relatives, etc.

Keep your eye on the tree—forget about the Keep Out signs in the photo below. The tree reaches out for God and the passer-by. The Keep Out sign merely protects the passerby from some dangerous situation. Remember: as adults we can handle the word “no” at times!

“As you travel through your life, brother, keep your eye upon the donut and not upon the hole”! Oh gosh, Now I AM hungry 😉 . Joy is a wonderful thing—it lightens my heart and my step….it keeps me steadfast in being a perennial optimist.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What is joy? – My own post #271

  1. diggingher says:

    We often confuse joy with happiness. Joy is deeper and is found when we rest and trust in God. Happiness is fleeting joy lasts forever. Thanks for another encouraging post.

  2. …and then there’s contentment…

  3. Meryl Jefferson says:

    I am so glad that I found thi ssite. My pastor preached today on Joy and I did a search using “What is joy” as the search item. Your link was teh 2nd one and I clicked on it. It was a blessing to read your post!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I am thrilled you found me to. God is always so providential. Feel free to go ahead and subscribe (it’s free). That way you will always receive my posts. I will go ahead and email you the same message in case you don’t receive this reply. Have a joyously blessed day.

  4. Meryl Jefferson says:

    Oh, and PLEASE excuse my typos! I should have checked before I posted….

  5. FRANCIS ITAM says:

    I ENJOY YOUR WRITE UP,IT IS ENCOURAGING. IT IS THE TRUE DEFINITION OF JOY.

Leave a Reply

