What is freedom? Daily post # 269

What is freedom?.”What is freedom? When do you feel most free in your job? In your day? Least free? When is it better to not be free?” Freedom to me has to do with my own free will (given to me by God) tempered with the respect and consideration that I have or should have towards others. In other words, God gave me free will—which means I can choose what i am going to do and say or not do and not say. However, there are different outcomes and consequences depending on what choices I make. It is kind of like a flow chart in that respect.

Now when I say I believe that there is a responsibility to temper my actions I need to provide an example. Yes, I have freedom of speech. Yes, I can be kind, logical, and rational or impulsive or unkind or downright cruel. However, since I do choose to follow God, and I do wish to honor Him by using my free will appropriately, then that means I must sacrifice the exercise of my free will at times. For instance, i do not believe that i should express my views in a way that will make someone else feel demeaned, diminished, marginalized or just plain hurt. Although that can be looked at as a restriction or an imposition on my freedom, I try to look at it as a gift. . . an opportunity to honor someone. . . i look at it the same way i do my marriage. I do not look at monogamy and fidelity as a restriction. I look at it as my gift to my husband and a way to honor him and God.

So freedom has many different aspects for me!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is freedom? Daily post # 269

Leave a Reply

