Each day too short: My post #269

In our Saturday paper’s features section there is always a lovely quote along with some gorgeous nature photography submitted by a reader. This past Saturday there was a quote by naturalist/essayist John Burroughs. Oh boy, do I agree with him!

“I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read and all the friends I want to see”.

Of course, so many days seem too short to get all my tasks and responsibilities handled. But if I remember to make my day a prayer, somehow the day expands. I am in the right frame of mind and I am not going through the day like a super-caffienated automaton! Even still, there is so much beauty to appreciate in life and so much joy to be found. I live in a gorgeous part of the country. Actually I have lived in and visited many gorgeous places. If I could find a way to expand each moment so I could get a year’s worth of appreciation and joy out of each and every moment the days would not seem too short.

I have found that getting some of my clutter gone, some of my files organized, and some of my tasks more systemized has added to my day. I have more focus. When I have focus I see more. I am going to write it like an analogy. Picture living in a very snowy place. Let’s say it has snowed about 3 feet every day for about a week. Initially when you shoveled your driveway, you unfortunately just tossed the snow to the side of the driveway. By the end of the week, though, you have to toss that snow over more than 18 feet of snow. Actually a lot more than 18 feet of snow, but you get the picture. Now if you climb into your yard and start moving the pile, it becomes more manageable. You can at least get the snow up and off of the driveway. But still, until spring comes there is just going to be a lot to deal with.

However, in the midst of all of this you discover all kinds of hearty shovelers in the neighborhood. People bring out vast containers of hot chocolate or coffee. The children run joyously amuck with their sleds and make snowballs, snowmen, and snowforts. Suddenly what looked like relentless drudgery has turned into an unforgettable weeks long gifts of togetherness. you discover that God gives us work and difficulties so we can find our way to each other.

It is that lovely gift of finding our way to each other that is the joy of my life. I love when I take the time to do that. It makes life absolutely fantastic—even in the midst of health struggles, financial difficulties, political dissension, crushing economic woes, even STILL if we wear pathways in the grass and snow that divides each other—we discover that…YES…I would love to sit down and have a cup of coffee/tea/hot chocolate with you. YES I have gotten a bit of control over my things to do list and I know in the fiber of my being that taking time to spend with someone, or taking time to go for a lovely walk, or watch the sunset will make my day seem richer, better, and more time expanding than time shrinking….Knowing that in every fiber of my being helps me to remain a perennial optimist.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Each day too short: My post #269

  1. Wow. Thanks for this, Kate! You know, I just cleaned out that closet, but hadn’t the sense to enjoy the fact. Mmm. This day will be fuller because of this rich start.

  2. Kathy says:

    Love this post. Thank you, it really spoke to me.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gosh thanks, I’m so glad! Fall really makes me aware of how quickly time is passing. By the way, I am following your Texas Rangers with rapt interest. My AZ Diamondbacks made a bit of a comeback last night. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    Waiting to see who we play next. I”ve only gotten to see one Diamondback game this playoff season, though. Good Luck.

    By the way, are you a member of the Maud-L list serv? If not you might check into the group since you love B-T like we do. http://www.betsy-tacysociety.org/links/

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks you too! I am not a member and i am going to check into the group. I love B-T! lived in Winona, MN for years as a kid and that is where i fell in love with B-T!

Leave a Reply

