God gives me courage in a Minpin minute: My post # 268

I was feeling a bit discouraged. As is often the case, part of a song came to me. It is from a song by Janet Vogt called Age to Age (published in 1996 and 1997). Chorus: Age to age we will love you. Dawning light we will wake with you. Into night we will follow you. We will love you age to age.
As the eagle flies to the heav’ns above.

On wings of faith God will bear you up.

Come, all you weary, for you are blessed.
God will lighten your burden and give you rest.

_____________________

There are so many times God has lightened my burden. I do tend to take on a lot and internalize things. After awhile I begin to feel punch drunk and a bit staggery…I love to picture me perched on a huge pair of wings on a gigantic eagle. The eagle is taking me to God. Do you know what it reminds me of? There is a marvelous children’s book by Roald Dahl called The Minpins. The book has absolutely gorgeous illustrations. The little boy in the story (Billy) wanders into the forbidden forest. He discovers tiny, tiny people living inside the tree trunks and tree branches. The people (called minpins) are smaller than leaves! When they want to travel, songbirds come and land on the branches. A minpin climbs on a bird’s back and flies the minpin to the minpin’s destination. Throughout the story a fire-breathing monster terrorizes the forest. I will not tell you how the story develops and turns out….you should read it if you haven’t already! Wouldn’t it be fun to head to the library and check out a Roald Dahl book? He is so deliciously and  suspensefully scary (just a bit scary though!)

So when I picture myself rising up on eagle’s to get love and encouragement from God, in my mind’s eye I am perched on the back of an eagle between his wings . I am either the size of a minpin, or the eagle is the size of a 747. Either way, nothing can stop me from rising up to hug my LORD….I can get to Him with prayer. but how lovely it would be to have a real minpin minute—you’ve heard the expression “In a New York Minute”, right? Well, if we fly to God’s comforting heart maybe we can do it in a Minpin Minute! 🙂

In my prayers I can fling myself upon the back of this bird. Then my prayers will wing their way to God. I will be lifted in mind, spirit and heart. Wouldn’t it be delightful to fly above our problems and burdens? Oh how delightful. Or to blink our way to God like Jeannie in I dream of Jeannie (but I digress). Generally speaking, I think I need encouragement and courage from God more than I realize! So my prayer today is that God give me wings (no not physically). Why? Birds that fly regularly get the urge to fly. They MUST fly. If my prayers become like birds—My prayers must be expressed because they must fly to God. Blessings today, my friends.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

