If you could change how schools work…Postaday Post #266

If you could change how schools work….”If you could change how schools work, what would you change? What is wrong with how public education for kids is structured? What works well? What specific things about school do you remember, good and bad?”

School for me was a wonderful happy place. I had teachers who challenged me and classmates to compete with. Nowadays I would organize schools far differently. There would be a true push to homeschool.Neighborhood co-ops could form to share expertise in specific subject areas.

For those who don’t want to homeschool there would still be schools. Schools would have teachers who teach to specific learning styles….for instance a math teacher that teaches to the visual learning style, others that teach to the audiotory, others that teach to the kinesthetic, etc. All subjects and grades would give students the chance to have a teacher that specializes in the learning style that helps that student learn. No more square pegs in round holes.

No cliques or group projects. No bullying by students, administrators or teachers. However, getting that stopped is another story and another blog…..:-)

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in education and career and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If you could change how schools work…Postaday Post #266

  1. Oh, you nailed it! Right on dead center! We might as well bring it all on home, though.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      an exception might be if the home itself or the relationships are too toxic to provide the nurturing environment the child(ren) need…..or if the child really thrives even more in the school setting…sometimes happens…

  2. Except . . . for the toxic home, far better to find a different home than just a daycare. Why allow them in a toxic home every night? It is a popular idea that being in a toxic home at night and during summer is probably safe but I don’t get it.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      True enough. just like better to be homeschooled than be in a toxic school. I was thinking about how sometimes famous writers or actors or whatever have said that they would have ended up in a far different place if that special teacher hadn’t believed in them and encouraged them. For them, that special teacher and school made all the difference in the world.But yes—no child should have to remain in a toxic home….(or a toxic school)

  3. gwen's world says:

    I would put particular emphasis on administrator and teacher quality. Graduating from a high priced university may look great on paper but that does not guarantee the candidate can teach what he/she knows. There is a spark, a glow that is evident within excellent teachers – a spark that starts with a love of young people – a spark that ignites as the teacher challenges students and when that student achieves genuine success. Enthusiasm for one’s subject is contagious. I would watch a teacher for a week of class time before making a decision regarding hiring. I truly believe students learn best from a teacher who cares about the subject, classroom atmosphere and above all – them. It can be a challenge but everyday should be a day in which a teacher is challenged to make his/her room a safe place to learn. If this were the case there would not be (with the exception of religious concerns) a need for home schooling.

    As for administrators? My son’s school nurse ran the small valley school he attended – I’ve never seen a better educational environment. I refused to bring him into the school system in which I taught until high school – he wanted to play lacrosse so…..

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I completely agree with what you say about excellent teachers and the spark they create. Fortunately for me, probably at least 75% (possibly 90%) of my teachers and profs had that spark, challenging and caring. My administrators were terrific, too. I fell in love with learning, and the school environment as a result. But I have encountered so many kids and young adults in my tutoring experience where that is completely not the case. In many cases not only have the students bullied the kids, but so have their teachers. Complaints to admin fall on deaf ears. so in those cases, school has not been a safe place to learn. I wish every student could have both teachers and parents that have that glow and spark!

Leave a Reply

