We each can be “fishers of men”

In the Gospel of Mark “Jesus said unto them, come ye after me, and I will make you to become fishers of men”. [mark 1:17].

I never really stopped to think that we are each called (in our way with our own particular talents) to be fishers of men. It has different ramifications for each person, but we are each called to help others come to know, love, and serve God. I saw a movie a couple of weeks ago called “Seven Days in Utopia“. In the movie there is a scene involving fly fishing. Robert Duvall describes some of the techniques for fly fishing and uses those techniques as an allegory for life. At the time it struck me that God in some ways is like a fly-fisherman. He gives us choices, he provides opportunities. He wants us to be with Him in eternity.

It is my own impatience and need for IMMEDIATE understanding and accomplishment that gets in the way. It gets in the way when I try to help others discover a new path to God. Sometimes it is best to be patient, and sit and wait. Ready to discuss and support if that is what the person wants. In the mean time, I need to always remember that it happens in God’s time….not mine…. The photo below shows a man who is patient enough to wait….I think he, too, may be a perennial optimist! 😉

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We each can be “fishers of men”

  1. LoveNiki says:

    The sentence “It is my own impatience and need for IMMEDIATE understanding and accomplishment that gets in the way” pretty much sums up one of my biggest flaws. Lol. Great post!

  2. diggingher says:

    Enjoyed reading the post. I can be a pretty patient person but fishing would do me in! I just read this quote and thought it applied nicely to your observations. “Every action in our lives touches on some chord that will vibrate in eternity.” -Edwin Hubbel Chapin

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Hey–I like that quote a lot! It is so true===it does vibrate and ripple out forever! I am not patient enough for fishing either. I haven’t fished since I was a kid. The man in the photo was fishing at our riparian preserve in our town one day. He was so calm and relaxed!

  3. hugmamma says:

    I too must practice patience…and I’ve a best friend and soul mate, patience personified…who has helped me for 41 years…and continues to do so…

    we’re both lucky that way… 😉

Leave a Reply

