When I became graceful for the first time in my life – My post # 258

Pick a number from 1 to 10 – and relate it to your life.

My number is 1, as in 1st time in my life. When I was very little my toes were very pigeon-toed. That was when I was about 3. My parents put me in ballet class with a wonderful teacher named Dorothy. She taught us dance and also taught us about life. Each class would end with a life-lesson as we gathered like little lambs at the feet of our shepherd-ess. I remember the studio. I remember the ballet barres around the perimeter of the room and the mirrored wall at the front of the studio. The barres were different heights and so were the girls. The barre I was at was lower, as I was pretty tiny. But when we did our releves I could see out the window and down into the schoolyard. I felt so tall!

Anyway, before I began ballet lessons I was quite clumsy. My pediatrician recommended ballet to counteract that tendency. Oh, how lovely it was to dance. I felt as though I had wings and was the most amazing dancer anywhere. I danced and practiced ALL the time. My dad even built a ballet barre in my room. In my mind, I danced like Pavlova. At the beginning of each dance lesson, Dorothy would bestow upon each of us a sash (except for one who would get a tiara). The sash color was determined by how we did the week before. However, there were never any hurt feelings or feeling less no matter what color sash we received. She would make a lovely show of tying the sashes on each of us. It was the love and attention she gave each of us that was so special.

As time went on in my dancing class, I improved. Before long, after all my practice and eager attentiveness, Dorothy determined that although I was only 5, I had progressed enough to graduate to toe shoes! Oh my—from that moment on, I always tried to move as though I was the most graceful sweet dancer. You see, it was the love my teacher gave to me that helped me see myself through new eyes. I had become the vision she had of me. She saw my inner beauty and made me feel beautiful and helped me become graceful.

That gracefulness emerges powerfully on my good days. It vanishes when I forget the lessons she gave me. On the good days I am, figuratively speaking,  Pavlova. On the bad days I am almost literally a 3rd string Roller Derby brat. Oh, may I forever dance on my toes, glisade, arabesque, tour j’ete, and turn-turn-turn…..To leave beauty and joy wherever I turn…helping the world feel beautiful while striving to always be a person of grace, courage, and class.

Grace under pressure….isn’t that the definition of courage? Beauty is all around us…and within us. That beauty evokes grace and grace beauty from within each of us if we just listen. ❤ . When I was 5 I became graceful for the first time, and not the last.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When I became graceful for the first time in my life – My post # 258

  1. Stef says:

    Your ballet teacher sounds amazing – I adore the idea of giving each girl a sash as a form of encouragement (and beauty) – terrific! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh how I loved getting my sash!!! The amazing thing was none of us stuck our noses up as if to say “ha-ha- I got blue and you only got ink”…..if i recall correctly dorothy would EVEN say something specific to each of us about our accomplishments in the class before. She started teaching dance as a young lady. She taught into her 80s! I am betting she died with her toe shoes on (like the soldiers who die with their boots on). We moved a few places and I had other dance teachers. Then we moved back to Minneaolis and I had the joy of having her again. Loved my Dorothy Lundstrom….

  2. What a gift that teacher bestowed upon her corner of the world! How I would have loved being you, then! Ballet was always one of my yearnings. My folks never had that type of money, though; always just enough for food and regular shoes, and not a penny more.
    Howver, I did, once, live in Winona . . .
    . . . Mississippi! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      No way! Winona, MS for you Winona, MN for me….so many matchups! My beloved Dorothy taught me for next to nothing—mom’s family and her family had known each other forever. I will find a link about her and send it. When I took lessons she didn’t do the expensive stuff (special costumes, recitals, requiring tons of classes) that so many of the studios do now. She didn’t even do recitals. Her studio was open door—parents and others could come and watch lessons anytime. those were the recitals for Dorothy. You are right—I was SO lucky. We went without lots of things—but we always had lessons or sports depending on the child.

  3. Wouldn’t it be funny if we ended up in the same nursing home, someday!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

