I want to be an instrument in His hands

In the midst of commenting on a friend’s blog I saw a comment that said it is important to be an instrument in God’s hands. I think that is such a wonderful thought! I mean, if I think of it that way, I cannot make the music He intends unless I am in His hands. If I am not the clarinet in His hands, then I am just a woodwind in a case or on a table.  The more of us that trustingly put ourselves in His hands for His loving guidance, the better the symphony/Big Band/Jazz Band/ CW band/Rock band/Folk Group will sound.

If we do it ourselves instead, well then, we may each be on a different page. It MIGHT be a beautiful song. More than likely, though, it will be caucaphony! Oh how I want to always be played by Him (and I don’t mean played like tricked or manipulated. My Lord would never do that)!

When I think of something lovely, soothing, and beautiful, I sometimes think of a wonderful scene from Mr. Holland’s Opus. In that movie, there is a scene where he is trying to teach a young student to play from her heart. This is the song she played. When I hear it on the radio—oh how it makes me see beauty all around me. There are even some lovely ocean photos in this link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhNPswAR7Zg&feature=related

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I want to be an instrument in His hands

  1. Did love Mr. Holland’s Opus! Loved that scene, too, with “play the sunset.” So imaginative!

  2. Pingback: We Are Part of His Symphony, Aren’t We? | Believe Anyway

  3. And my bow is ready for playing at a moments notice..
    Wonderful post Kate!
    God blesses you abundantly ~ BB

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Baroness!!
      That so reminds me of that Meryl Streep movie “Music of the Heart” where she taught violin at a school in Harlem. {I know, an inspirational movie about a teacher that was based on a true story. How could I not love it?}. God bless you deeply and completely.

Leave a Reply

