Counting Your Blessings: My own daily post topic for 9/14/11

With the 10th anniversary of 9/11 now come and gone I was reflecting on the original post-attack week. Regular programs were all on hold for awhile. Eventually programming came back. On one of the first Live with Regis and Kelly programs after the attack, Regis’ guest was the magnificent Rosemary Clooney. She was in town because she was going to be making a week-long appearance at a Manhattan nightclub. I cannot remember which one, nor can I remember what new album she was releasing. What I do remember her speaking about was blessings. She was addressing folks’ fears post-attack. She was urging people to be courageous and kind, and to do so by focusing on blessings.

Keep in mind that one of my absolutely FAVORITE Christmas movies is White Christmas [with Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Ellen]. In that movie Rosemary Clooney sings “Counting Your Blessings”…such a magnificent scene and song.

Anyway, to make a short story long, she walked over to the stage in Regis’ studio, sat down and sang “Counting Your Blessings”. It was such a poignantly beautiful and moving moment. I took a quick youtube check to see if I could find that specific performance. I haven’t found that. But I am putting the link in for the scene from White Christmas, where she sings it. I am definitely counting my blessings today. My faith, God’s presence, my family, the inspiration I get from others….they all help me recall my blessings; they are my blessings. Remembering my blessings and focusing on them provides the rudder. The rudder steers me to the deep waters—the deep waters give me room to be a perennial optimist.

Here is the fabulous Bing Crosby introducing the song to Rosemary Clooney in a wonderful moment: www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFUaFSry30w

and here is Rosemary Clooney singing it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=th-DlJ3XsEI&feature=related

I wish you love and countless, countless blessings

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

