I learned something new yesterday :-) : My own post #249

Our air conditioner was not putting out cold air yesterday. So I called our wonderful a/c repairman. He owns his own company and happens to also be the dad of one of my students. He sent a terrific guy out on the job. It turned out a couple of capacitors had to be replaced. I was very grateful we didn’t have to replace the system! Anyway, while he was here he told me NOT to use the pleated air filters. He said that greatly reduces the airflow, making the air conditioner and the furnace work a lot harder, and letting less cold air through in the summer and hot air through in the winter. He recommended the cheapie filters that you replace once a month instead. So today I am off to Home Depot to do as he recommended. The repairman said that it will also help our electric bill and improve the cooling efficiency in our home. Hooray for that!

My students are all doing well right now. That tells me that their hard work, my hard work, and all of the time we have put in together over the past year or two (depending on which student I am talking about) has paid off. I am so thrilled for them. It may be that some of them will be about ready to ‘go tutorless’. That makes me happy for them but sad for me. I will miss them when I move on. There will be new challenges as I take on new students at that point. But, as my dad always said, ‘change is good’.

Now today’s pace is going to be a bit less hectic and has a whole lot of balance. I had time for prayer and scripture this morning, followed by list making. Next up is chores, then tutoring, then family time along with dinner and  the finals for America’s Got Talent [my guilty-pleasure from the summer].

I began today with a calm, reflective heart. I am filled with God’s peace and happiness. I plan to run my errands and actually get some filing and “fall cleaning” done today if possible amidst my phone calls and appointment-making. Although my list is already longer than I can accomplish today, it feels good to try to reduce my list. I hope that my friends and loved ones are feeling at peace today.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

